Only Friends | The Ink Well Prompt #53

First impressions are said to have a say in how things go. While this is true, it does have its soaring or limitating effects applied only to an extent when it comes to relationships and who ends up with who.


I stood outside the principal's office facing the library waiting to be called in. For a while I was oblivious to it all as my sight was set at Dora whom I have been watching the minute she left the library all the way to B-block. Her body movement, figure and beauty basically took me to the clouds.
It wasn't until I felt a tab on my left shoulder that I landed on the ground. I quickly gazed and met Soffie's glim with her long braids before poking.
"waw you're so lost right now. Aren't you suppose to be punished?. She glances at Dora who vanishes on the corridor and adds.
"Isn't she so majestic?." she bends in laughter. I made a half smile and made a move toward the office avoiding her wits.

I have been late for an entire week thanks to the late night hangouts with Edu which led me here and lucky enough I met the principal's good side with milder threats.

Soffie and I on the other hand had been close friends long before Edu came into the picture. In fact a lot of people thought that we are together including Edu who took his time in making a move on her.
Image Source
Dora has a close circle of friends and doesn't seem to open up to other people easily and so rejection was on the cards for me. I made a sudden move following much hesitation in asking her out. It almost took her the same amount of time to give me an answer but I was glad that she accepted. We became familiar with each other more and eventually got into a relationship and it all felt like a dream come true after months of being together in harmony. However, enormous time I invested wasn't getting matched and so I realise that I was alone in that state of love and in doing all I could in making sure that we stick together.

We would go out from time to time but she'd lately come up with excuses on why she'd fail coming. The querrels were slowly killing the spark and Soffie who frowns at it began feeling that space more as it ended and the seamingly 'only friends' took an even greater twist as the end of the academic year edges closer. The dramas she had with Edu were not ceasing and the last of which I witnessed happened at school.

When prom night came the only reasons I dressed up and went was because I had nothing to do at home and to declutter my mind. I had told her that I wasn't going to attend it. I could hear the sounds before reaching and aside from the music blasting the hall was so full of people that it's so hard to find a particular person amidst the flashing lights.
I spotted Soffie in her jaw dropping bluish sheath dress but the look she gave me meant that she wasn't expecting me to be there.
"you came."
"yeah am here" I said hugging her as she whispers "ok".
The chemistry commanded a new look to our companionship as we danced after having our first kiss and had so much fun afterwards.


Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency