Smile of fortune.



Every minute looks like extra time of survival for Leo. He is expecting death to strike at anytime going by the doctor's report if the fund needed for the operation isn't available. The clock is ticking and to say that Leo thinks more of life after death if truly it does exist than any plan for the next minute of living is an understatement.

photo-1606166187734-a4cb74079037.jpeg
Source


"I have done all I could to help you. I am handicapped at this stage. We can continue with the dialysis but the transplant shouldn't be delayed." Dr. Pat stated. Ever since you were brought here, only your apprentice at work and other friends of yours are the ones that have been coming to check on you. Don't you have family? The Doctor asked.

Leo was really not interested in the conversation because he is tired of the miserable life he's living. His main prayer point is to end it all. To him, the doctor is in a position of a helper whom he can't ignore for whatever reason. He rose up from his lying down position and made a frantic effort to sit down before answering the doctor. Leo is now a shadow of his former self.

"Thank you Dr" He began. "I ran away from home with a friend to this town about ten years ago after I lost my mum. It's a long story that I believe we will discuss the details someday if I am counted among the living" Seeing the way Leo battled with words, Pat let the discussion slide. "Alright. We will do our best and I believe you will be among the living. We will discuss this another time as you suggested" Replied Pat.

It is now getting to a month since Leo has been battling with his life in the hospital. He is a road side vulcanizer with two apprentices. He was so good at what he does that he became the most popular vulcanizer in the neighborhood. His sense of humour makes his workshop a center of relaxation for retirees and even youths mostly on weekends. His workshop is under a big tree which provides a shade for him to work. Under the tree is also three benches with a ludo game to entertain those that come around to relax there.

photo-1598089506369-03813d50549b.jpeg
Source


For the past one month, only his apprentices are the ones opening the shop to attend to customers. They can't handle some complex work and this is really taking toll on his customers.

On the afternoon of the day that Dr. Pat was asking Leo about his family, a longtime customer, Patrick came to ask after Leo at the workshop. He was attended to by John, Leo's senior apprentice. "This is my third time of coming here in the last few weeks without meeting Leo, you told me he isn't around each time I asked you. Where is he? What's the problem?" A curious Patrick asked.

"My boss has been sick for a month now. He is in the hospital with a kidney problem. He needs kidney transplant. We are hoping to get a way of flying him out for the operation anytime soon. What we could afford now is buying of drugs to manage the situation" John responded. "Can you take me to the hospital?" Patrick requested. John responded to the affirmative and he took him to the hospital.

They arrived the hospital and met Leo in pitiable state. His health is deteriorating fast. He barely could respond to greetings talk more of recognizing the visitor. Without wasting time, Patrick had a brief meeting with the Pat in his office. "Please Dr, how can we safe the life of my friend?" Patrick asked. The Dr. explained everything regarding Leo's health. Patrick was made to understand that the only way forward is kidney transplant which must be done immediately. "Please, let's begin the process. I'll sponsor all the expenses."

Without further delay, Leo was flown abroad and the operation was successfully conducted. He returned after recuperating for a while to continue his rest in his home country. Patrick provided Leo with every financial support needed during and after the operation till the time Leo became strong to resume his work. Patrick bought him a tyre changer machine that helped ease his work of vulcanizing.

Patrick and Pat were together with Leo on his return to the country when Pat asked him again about his family. This time around, Patrick took his time to explain his life journey up to this point.

"My father was a very rich businessman. He was into housing estate and hospitality business. I was the only son of my father and I was 13 years old when my mother died. My father married another woman two years later. The woman hated me to the point that if my father made any of his numerous business trips, this woman would starve me of food. "Whenever I reported to my father on his arrival, he hardly believed me. He loved his wife so much irrespective of how she treated me. I got fed up that I left home with my friend to the city of Ikeja. Life was difficult in the city and instead of continuing my education, I learned the art of vulcanizing for me to survive. I was brought to this town by another son of this town that I met in Ikeja."

"Haven't you heard from your father since then? Patrick asked. In his response, he said; "I met someone that I knew from home few years ago who informed me of the death of my father. I traveled home but I wasn't welcomed by my stepmother." "We are now a big family, I wish you a quick recovery" Doctor Pat replied. Patrick prayed for Leo before they left.

Leo recuperated in six month and returned to his work in supervisory role. Few months later, Leo was returning home from shop when he met a man, Ben, stranded with one of his car tyres deflated. Leo helped him change the tyre. At the course of their conversation, both of them established that they are from the same town. When Ben pressed further, he identified who Leo father was. "So, you are the son of the late famous hotelier?" We have been praying for years for a day like this."

Responding, Leo asked Ben to elaborate his statement. "The king has been looking for you since shortly after the death of your father. I was privilege to know through my father that is a chief in the palace. I plead with you to come to the palace. I think the issue is about inheritance or so. Just find time and come." Ben concluded. Leo bid Ben goodbye after fixing the tyre without accepting payment for the job.

Leo went to the palace few weeks later to see the king. "Welcome my son. We've been looking for you for the past five years that your father died. Where have you been?" The king asked. Leo explained his experience in the hand of his stepmother before running away from home. He also talked about how he came back visiting when he got the news of his father's death and he wasn't welcomed by his stepmother.

"When your father died mysteriously, the police launched an investigation into the cause of his death and it was discovered that his wife, your stepmother, killed him in order to inherit his properties. She was prosecuted in court and was jailed for some years. She's still serving the jail term. "Your father's lawyer came to the palace to read your father's will. Your father willed all his businesses and properties, except the house he was living with your stepmother before his demise, to you. He willed the house to his wife. When we couldn't find you, I instructed the lawyer to manage the properties under the supervision of the palace till a day like this." The king explained to Leo.

The following day, the lawyer was invited and the documents to the multimillion dollar businesses and properties were handed over to Leo.

"This is a lot of wealth.

photo-1623106405790-0ed93dd15bab.jpeg
Source


"I never expected that fortune would ever smile at me in this magnitude" remarked Leo with tears of joy rolling down his cheeks.


photo-1553642618-de0381320ff3.jpeg
Source


He appointed his benefactor, Patrick, to head the companies as Director General and his personal adviser.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency