Greedy desires.

img_0.5022724409349509.jpg
imagesource

"My wedding is tomorrow, why is it so hard for you to digest that" Annabelle yelled at Gary.

"And what happens to us?, all the beautiful times we had together"

At this point Annabelle didn't know what else to do. She thought it a mistake coming over to Gary's hotel room to talk things over. What was she even thinking? How could she have gotten herself entangled in this mess? And Gary is someone that isn't gonna back down. Not now, not forever. Whenever he's bent on achieving or destroying something he makes sure it gets done. She blamed herself for having something to do with Gary in the first place. But in another thought one wouldn't blame her. Being an orphan that grew up in the slum, Gary was her saviour. He had rescued her from her wicked aunt and she had fallen in love with him. Gary introduced her to the gangster life indulging in all manner of immoral acts.

Not until she met Samuel, a kind and responsible dude from a rich family. Samuel wasn't the regular boyfriend/fiance. He was way beyond that. Samuel had helped her reshape her life and stop all immoral acts . It was Samuel who paid for her counselling sessions.

When she realized she was in love with Samuel she didn't know what to do as she was still dating Gary knowing fully well that Gary can be deadly when it comes to stuff like this. But she didn't care. She was ready to risk it all.
Although she had fears that Samuel wouldn't love her back considering the life she has lived. Samuel had instead surprised her by asking her out first that alone calmed her fears. She didn't hesitate to accept not minding Gary. She knew she wasn't fine with living a gangster life, she has always craved for a change, she has always prayed for a way out. And Samuel was her change,

"I don't care Gary, I'm tired of all this gangster nonsense. Can't you see" She cried. "I want to do better with my life, pursue my dreams, and start a family. I want to be loved like a woman should, and clearly I found all that in Samuel."

"I see what you're trying to do lady. You're trying to cut me off from our deal." Gary puffed a cigarette and stomped round his hotel room angry. "Yeah lady, that's what you're trying to do. But listen to me. It's either we have it my way or Samuel finds out about us and the deal" he threatened. "The gangster life never dies" he gave a cheeky smile.

"And you think he'll believe you without proof"

"Who said there isn't proof, I have it all recorded on my phone" he reached for his phone from his pocket and played a record. It was their conversation about the deal. "Again gangster life never dies" he gave a wicked laugh.

Annabelle froze. Whenever Gary uses that line he means it. She was in a deep mess and she knows it. Why did she even accept such a deal with Gary? She shook her head and dumped herself on a nearby sofa.

When Garry had found out about Samuel he was very angry. He locked her up inside for days and threatened to deal with Samuel till he found out about Samuels background and wealth.

" I've always known you're gonna change my life one day. That's why I invested my money on you" Gary told her. As he walked into her room as she was reading a book. And sat on her bed " But I never knew it will be this big"
"What do you mean "
"I mean Samuel, I tracked him to his house. Dude is made. He's rich Anna"
"And what has that got to do with me changing your life".
"Chill, girl I'll tell you." He stood up from the bed, walked over to a table in her room which had a gin bottle on it and poured himself a drink. He took a sip and continued "Here's the deal, you get that guy to marry you and after some years, say two years tops. You divorce him and ask for alimony. Then we elope together to a new country" he smiled and took another sip.

Annabelle didn't agree to the deal at first. Then Gary threatened to hurt Samuel if she didn't accept the deal. She had no other option but to go with it. She felt taking the deal will make Gary get his eyes off Samuel for a while. Then when the time is right she'll run away with Samuel to another country to start up a new life. But as it is she didn't have any option again. Gary had their recorded conversation of the deal. Exactly the day she has obliged.

She stood up and made to leave the room. Right at the door she turned to Gary who was smiling.

"No Gary, the gangster's life does die. Just like mine." She paused and smiled " I'm gonna walk out of this door and go straight to Samuel and tell him all the truth he should know. I pray he forgives me, but unfortunately he doesn't and calls off the wedding then I'll take my cross. I guess karma has a way of paying us back on how we lived our lives. If this is mine then so be it. I'm done manipulating people I love for your selfish gains. Have a great life" she concluded and slammed the door hard as she left the room. Whatever gave her the courage or idea to do that she didn't know. All she knows is that she was gonna tell Samuel the whole truth.

As she predicted, Samuel called off the wedding when she told him everything. And flew back with his family to his hometown. He needed to cool off.

Annabelle on the other hand moved in with her friend Jane. She has lost it all but she didn't care. She was happy that she was done with her former life and about to make a change.
She was sitting on a sofa in her friend's sitting room reading a book when a knock came at the door. She wasn't expecting a visitor and definitely it wasn't her Jane. Jane was at work and won't return till late at night. She reluctantly stood up and walked to the door. She opened and standing on the other side of the door was Samuel. She stood there staring like She had seen a ghost. It's been 2months she hasn't heard from him. She has tried reaching him several times but couldn't. She tried to talk but words weren't forthcoming. What was he doing here? How did he find her?

"Hi," he said, breaking the silence. "Don't be scared, Gary told me where you are. He gave me this address and I tracked you here."

"Why?" She asked instead. Why would Gary do such a thing? For all she knew he was against her marrying Samuel.

."I thought so too. But from the look of things he regrets his actions. He told me all that happened." He replied as if he read her thoughts. "He told me the truth. I'm sorry you have to pass through all that. And I wish we could go back to how we were"

"And how is that?" Annabelle asked, surprised.

"Let's get married," Samuel replied.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency