THE INKWELL PROMPT #47: MY SAVING GRACE

img_0.5864179731379693.jpg
source

My day started off pretty usual, I got dressed, ate, and waved goodbye to my parents while I headed off to school but for some reason today didn’t feel very usual.

I normally took the bus to school but when I got to the bus stop I couldn’t find the bus and an old lady proceeded to tell me that the bus came early and had just left.

“Good for me,” I thought to myself

Missing the bus meant one thing, I had to walk which I hated but instead of wasting time grumbling, I decided to get on my journey.

I had walked for a few miles before my phone started ringing, I looked at the screen and saw my boyfriend Jack's name with a video of him and I immediately picked up.

“Where are you Anna, you are late” he immediately said in a dramatic tone.

I rolled my eyes while telling him what had happened and promised to be at school in a few minutes before ending the call.

You see, I and Jack have been dating for almost 2 years but most days I wondered why I was even with him, of course, him being the most popular kid in school was a big plus but there was nothing else he offered me.

I continued walking while dancing to a song by Taylor Swift and before I realized it I was standing in front of the school building.

I quickly put my phone on mute, put it in my bag while checking my timetable, and realized that I had mathematics first.

“Well just my luck,” I said out loud

Being late to the maths class wasn’t something I enjoyed because Mr. Cameron was always so annoying when students were late but I couldn’t miss out on this class because I had the SATs soon so I quietly sneaked into the class and luckily I wasn’t caught.

The class ended soon enough and while I was about to walk out I hit an object that made me fall flat on my ass, looking up I saw a geeky boy with glasses that looked pretty familiar but I couldn’t recall much.

I stood up and walked away from him while he tried to speak and headed to my boyfriend and our friends.

I had spoken with them for about a few minutes with my boyfriend scolding me for coming late before I had the urge to use the bathroom, I told them that I was going to meet them in our next class which we all had together and I headed towards the bathroom.

While in the bathroom, I heard the alarm ring but since I knew that we always had that drill, I didn’t bother myself to come out until I started noticing smoke.

“What the heck is happening,” I said while trying to walk out of the bathroom stall but what I met scared me and I froze.

The whole school was burning, most of the exit points were blocked and I noticed that I was the only one inside.

“Oh my God, I am going die”

I tried hitting the doors but they didn’t even move and before I could realize it, I was feeling very sleepy and I proceeded to lay on the floor.

I woke up to a beeping noise and while my vision was very blurry I could observe that I was in the hospital, I looked up and saw my mother and she explained what had happened and how my neighbor had rushed into the school to save me.

I was very confused about who this neighbor was until I saw a boy walk into my room, I looked up and noticed that it was the geeky boy from earlier smiling at me.

Apparently, when everyone went out of the school, he noticed that I wasn’t there even before my so-called boyfriend and immediately rushed back into the school to save me which he did.

I couldn’t believe that someone who I barely remembered would turn out to be my unlikely hero and at that point, I knew that our friendship had just begun.


THE END


THANK YOU FOR OPENING THIS BOX OF PASSION

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
41 Comments
Ecency