My Desire Or Daisy's? | The Ink Well Prompt #92


Image source

It was a cold night but I did not feel it. Not when I was hell-bent on saving my daughter, Daisy. I'd taken matters into my hands and confronted her fiancé, Philip Oommen, at his bachelor's party in his mansion.

Philip Oommen was one of the wealthiest men in town but divorced twice because he could not have children. Not many people knew this about the silver fox who never lacked female admirers, especially young ladies. His ex-wives did not mince words at our club meetings when they made jokes about him.

When Daisy first brought Philip Oommen home, I assumed they were working together on a project or something only to introduce him as her fiancé!

"Do you know what you are getting yourself into?" I gripped Daisy's forearm in fury soon after Phillip left that night. She snatched her arm back and scowled at me. I forced myself to remember she was no longer a child.

"Mama, I love Phil and he loves me. I am an adult now and there's nothing you can say or do to change my mind," she argued, her chin stubbornly raised. Whenever her chin was raised like that, nothing ever worked. Daisy would do whatever she wanted.

I did not want to tell her the reason for the divorces because I would never shame another for a matter so sensitive. After all, there were other noble ways to have children.

But I was totally against the age gap. His fifty-eight years to my Daisy's twenty-one was unacceptable. He would break her heart and probably crush her spirit when their infatuation wore off.

I had to put an end to it before the wedding.

"Ah, I wonder when I'll get a special visit from you, Mrs Dixon. I guess today is the day?" Philip asked with amusement. He was dressed in a classic tuxedo without a vest, a black bow tied at his neck, and a glass of scotch in one hand.

As I frowned at him, I understood the fascination of young ladies. He was tall, broad, in excellent shape and had a handsome face. Everything about him was somewhat perfect, even his well-manicured fingers. But I saw the shallowness in him, a man used to people worshipping him.

He would never be good enough for my Daisy. I had to help her see it.

"You know your relationship with my daughter is wrong. Totally wrong," I said, my heart pumping in my chest from suppressed anger and frustration.

He frowned. "Mrs Dixon, out of respect, I won't have my security show you the way out. Remember this is my home and I won't have you insult me by saying that my relationship with Daisy is wrong. Are you alluding to the age gap?"

"Yes!" I screamed. Some of his friends who stood at the bar nursing their drinks turned to look at us. "She's too young for you. She could even be your daughter—"

Philip inhaled a sharp breath as anger and confusion warred simultaneously on his face before he collected himself.

"I had hoped you and I would not only be a family but also friends, seeing we are almost the same age but I was wrong. Daisy and I love each other and she will be displeased to know about this visit."

"She should be, I don't care! I only care that she will not make a mistake."

"We are not a mistake!" Philip proclaimed through gritted teeth.

I levelled the full power of my gaze on him and hoped it had the effect I wanted. "You can tell yourself that but the world knows it is. If you truly love her, you'll stop this sham of a wedding and let her live her life. She deserves to and more."

I turned and walked away as fast as I could.

I didn't sleep much at night. By nine am I was ready for a day that should be one of my happiest —walking my daughter down the aisle to be married— but instead, my heart pumped fast in fear and anxiety. Dressed in a V-neck, lilac-grey short gown with bishop sleeves that stretched to my elbows, I glanced at the shiny black coat hung on a chair that I would put on. It was a gift from my late husband, Chris.

Maybe I should stay home and feign illness. Daisy would understand, I think. I sighed and stroked the coat tenderly. The soft feel of the material under my fingertips was soothing, and almost hypnotic as thoughts of Chris flooded back. He was a giver and wanted the best for his family until his last breath. Would he be disappointed in me?

I felt I had failed Chris by not dissuading our daughter from her ambition to be one of the trophy wives in town.

A sharp rap on the door brought me back to reality. It was time to head to the church. As I alighted from the car, an usher led me close to the entrance where Daisy stood in her flowing bridal gown.

Her face was covered by a veil but I could see through it that her eyes were closed. She looked so beautiful, yet frail. I gently touched her elbow. Her widened eyes told me my baby girl was nervous.

"Mama, you are here," she gasped. I held her to my chest and felt her hand grip me tightly like she always did as a child.

"Of course, I am. Ready?" I asked as I tenderly tucked a stray lock of her chestnut hair behind her ears. She leaned into my touch and gave me a nod. My heart ached more.

I pulled her hand into the curve of my elbow and we walked into the church slowly as the organist played a slow song. Philip stood close to the altar with his best man but he looked a little pale. I became a little worried. Was he hungover?

As I handed my daughter to him, he gave me a nod, smiled at Daisy and they both faced the priest. The organist stopped playing and the priest began to read the wedding vows, Philip sharply interrupted and gasps erupted from the congregation.

"I-I, …. I'm sorry I can't do this," he stuttered. There was a sharp ringing in my ears as I leapt from my seat.

"What?" Daisy gasped as well as others in the congregation.

"I'm so sorry, Daisy. I thought I could but I can't go through with this." He turned and jogged out of the church before anyone could stop him.

I ran to hold my daughter as she collapsed into my arms unconscious. A family friend who was also a doctor rushed forward to help. I breathed a sigh of relief as he attended to her.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
38 Comments
Ecency