THE BIGGEST SURPRISE OF MY LIFE: My Family came for my High School Graduation 🤗

I was barely thirteen years of age when my father dumped me at the High school I attended. You wonder why I used the word ‘dump’? You will find out soon.

I had a really tough experience in my high school. The High school was purely a boarding school and here in Nigeria, some of us that went to boarding schools up till the late year 2010 can relate with the hardships in the school. I attended Gifted Academy, Suleja between the year 2002 and 2008 for myy High school. The experience was as well pleasant as it was horrible. A beauty of the school was that, students from all states of the country were represented as it was an institution of learning that united highly intellectual students nationwide.
Since the day I began to attend the school, I was handed over to a school guardian who happened to be a teacher in the same school. I pretty much did not lack the basics and at the end of each session, I had the opportunity to travel back home. Permit me to say, the High school is located some eight to ten hours’ journey by road and the road can be pretty unmotorable (Mokwa, Bida, Lapai/Lambata and Suleja roads). I was based in Kwara State and the school is situated at the extreme border of Niger State.

I could not blame my family much as they never for once showed up during mid-term breaks. The experience left some sadness in me though. I usually saw parents or relatives of colleagues come to visit my mates and sometimes, not necessarily during the mid-term breaks.

I truly envied my friends when their parents or relatives would bring items and food for them. I always hoped that one day, I would have someone visit me also.

Fast forward to the year 2008 when I was eventually graduating from high school. I was preparing for the final year students valedictory service the following day when on the eve of the graduation I was visited by my guardian. I wondered what brought him to the students’ hostel at such hour which was a bit of unlike of him.

There he broke the news to me giving me the biggest surprise of my life, ‘MY MOTHER and TWO SIBLINGS OF MINE CAME VISITING TO ATTEND MY HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION’. I was quite speechless because I was not pre-informed and never expected that they would come all the way to rejoice with him. It was sad to learn they had some difficulties along the way such as experiencing a robbery attack, loss of telephone, among others. Surprisingly also, she bought me a suit to wear for my valedictory service.

I was extremely elated and grateful that she and my siblings could sacrifice to come for my graduation ceremony. The joy of that occasion and act of surprise visit truly over shadowed those days I felt neglected in high school.

NB: my apologies i couldn't lay hands on my picture with my family right now

And please, don't laugh at my picture too much o, i have upgraded 😂

Find below the new me 🤣

KINDLY NOTE THAT ALL IMAGES ARE MINE AND OF ME 😊😂😃😊

Thank you for reading through. I would love to read your comments and contributions 🤗

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency