My stolen friend

It was very unusual of me, yet I got to class earlier than my classmates. The plan was simple: drag my locker to a new spot, preferably the front seat, where I would have few distractions. One would think I wanted to be serious with my academics and have the opportunity to assimilate what the instructor had to teach to the almost thirty students in class. After all, it was the final year of high school, and coming out with flying colors was the dream of every Nigerian high school student. Thankfully, my class table was not heavy yet; I had to drag it to the new spot, displacing a classmate, Tunde, whom I could easily plead with. The sun was rising from the distant horizon, and a chill of cold particles gradually dispersed from the rays of the sun. I hastily left the classroom so as not to be seen by anyone and went to the dining hall. It was already 7 a.m., and breakfast was set.


As expected, Sophia (my best friend) walked into the hall with the new girl, Kemi. My heart sank, as well as racing erratically. I felt threatened enough and wished I could disappear. What hurt me more was that Kemi was beautiful, light-skinned, and fresh-looking, and her smile was embellished with captivating bilateral dimples. I wasn't surprised Sophia clicked with the new girl; her attention had become rare to come by. I watched as both of them walked towards my seat to join me, and I swallowed a chunk of saliva.

"Good morning, Sophia; good morning, Kemi." I said, faking a smile in an attempt to conceal my discomfort and jealousy.

"Good morning, Stella; we didn't see you leave the hostel." Sophia said as she sat down opposite me with Kemi by her side.

At this point, I needed to cover my tracks. "I wanted to tidy up an assignment before class." I replied, hoping they'd not ask further. I was very uncomfortable, especially as Kemi sat mute on the table. I stole glances at Kemi, who apparently had stolen my best friend, and I felt intimidated in addition to the jealousy that coursed through my veins.


"Alright, Stella, baby. I am hungry; I can hardly wait for the meal to start." Sophia lamented; her face expressed some sadness. The meal was served at that instance, and for the first time in a while, we ate in silence, in contrast to previous times when it was common to pass side comments and gossip while eating.


Kemi was a transfer student and had come to our school to write the final examinations for high school. I learned her former school was shut down as a result of communal crises in the environment.
After the meal, I joined the new duo friends for class. Every step of mine was heavy, and I wished I could be anywhere other than with Sophia and Kemi. Sophia was the extrovert and certainly showed herself with Kemi around. I wondered if she didn't notice my withdrawal from her. I just wish she would be more sensitive. Luckily, our class instructor was in class, and we all rushed to our seats. Sophia gave me a quick questioning look, seeing that I sat right in front of the class. I was saved by the class instructor's presence. Throughout the 40-minute class, my mind kept traversing different thoughts, dreading the confrontation with Sophia after the class. I knew it was only a matter of time before Sophia would come crashing down on me. I hoped I would come out of my shell and express how hurt I felt that she was whisked away from me.


Immediately after the instructor stepped out of the class, I stood up to follow him but was held back by a gentle grasp on my right wrist, which was warm and unusual. I looked around, and I was surprised to see Kemi smiling at me. I didn't know what to make of her smile, but she looked so innocent and cheerful. She handed me a small note, neatly wrapped, and I walked out of the class. I didn't want to look back, suspecting Sophia might have her eyes fixed on me. I sat back on my seat and gently unwrapped the note. 'Hello Stella, I know this is awkward, but I want to apologize for stealing your friend from you. It was not intentional. I've always admired you since the two weeks I joined this school, and I've wanted to be your friend, even if it was through Sophia. I hope we can be friends. If it's fine with you, I'm outside the class waiting for a hug.' I was surprised and short for words. Tears almost welled up in my eyes, which I quickly cleaned off with my handkerchief.


source

I walked out of the classroom and saw Kemi standing in the corridor, blushing. I walked up to her and gave her a bear hug. We stood there for a moment, only to feel another arm wrap around us. I looked, and I saw that it was Sophia.

"Naughty girl, I've told you to always speak your mind." Sophia teased me.

"You know I'm too shy, Sophia. I'm sorry. I missed us," I replied, burying my head in the embrace. My heartbeat gradually normalized. I was glad I got my friend back and another treasure, Kemi.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency