The dragon child (English/Spanish)

tapa ing.jpg

Dear Tatiana:

I'm sure you will be surprised to receive this letter, it's been so long since you heard from me nor I from you. I no longer remember when was the last time we talked, I know that we argued, that we said things that maybe now we regret, well I don't know about you, but I do regret it. I wasn't there when you needed me, as any older brother should be, but now I want to explain to you the reasons that took me away from you and our family and made me the lonely man I am now. You will think it's a waste of time, I'm sure you think that after so long you don't care about my reasons anymore, but I know that you blame yourself, that sometimes you try to remember what you did so wrong for me to leave you. So in this letter I will give you the peace that I took from you all these years, my best Christmas present.

It all started that Christmas we spent in Cartagena, the whole family was together, I'm sure you remember. I was 14 years old and you were 10, we were inseparable, but that year you were obsessed with fritters and I was obsessed with fireworks. So you stayed at home enjoying grandma's delicious food, while I went with other neighborhood kids to play in the streets with our pyrotechnics.

I felt like I was flying, my body had exploded with so much joy and my soul was wandering those colonial-looking streets, intoxicated by the tender smells of traditional Christmas food and deafened by the noise of firecrackers. When suddenly an astonishing image stopped my march at a corner, in a small dark alley were a group of children of different ages, some older than me and others much smaller. They had no shirts or shoes, their bodies were skinny and skeletal, their empty eyes stared at me.

I don't know why I did it, I was scared maybe, their somber presence was out of sync with everything I was feeling inside me. I took one of my firecrackers and threw them at him. The detonations started but none of them moved, the fire danced at their feet and the smoke rose up before them who were still inert looking at me. Suddenly the smallest of them all approached the explosions, bent down and inhaled the smoke coming from the ground, that white cloud entered his small body in seconds, he looked at me defiantly, raised his head to the sky and exhaled. Smoke of all colors came out of him, accompanied by lit chips that reached about three meters high.

The spectacle was delirious, something changed inside me that night. What follows you already know well, when the parties ended I did not want to return home, I begged my father to let me live with my grandmother in Cartagena, as I was almost fifteen years old I convinced him and you returned home alone with a broken heart and without any explanation as to why your brother and best friend left you.

Since then I dedicated myself to look for the Dragon Boy who changed my way of seeing life that Christmas night. Eventually I discovered that they only appeared on December 24th. I followed them, I joined them, they accepted me in their clan of cursed children. You will not believe it, but together we traveled worlds that some can only imagine, lives far from this life, where people flew, or were huge, in others they were very small. I also knew underwater lives, walked the skies and rested sitting on the fire. The Dragon Boy and his brothers were the same in all worlds, they had no shirts or shoes, they had no laughter or voice, over the years I discovered that they had no soul either, they wandered from world to world looking for their place without any success. My adventures were only possible during the 24th of December, then I returned to my monotonous life with my grandmother.

I grew up and stopped being a boy, but the Dragon Boy and his brothers remained the same - You can't die if you don't have a life - said the little dragon every time I asked him. One December 24th they did not come, I was devastated, I did not eat or leave my room for days, I could not imagine a life without being able to travel other worlds, without seeing other people, this life was no longer enough for me.

I woke up one morning and saw myself in the mirror, I was already a mature man, my life had passed and I didn't realize it. So I went out into the street and started looking for something that would fulfill me again, I joined as a volunteer in an international organization dedicated to support low-income communities. I discovered that there are dragon children wandering all over this world, they have no clothes, no shoes, no name, no voice, no Christmas for them and no place in this tiny world.

I spent years working for this organization, watching human lives suffer and feeling myself slowly fade away. There wasn't a day that went by that I didn't think about Dragon Boy and his brothers, wondering why he had left me. For a while I thought that maybe they had found their place in the multiverse, then I became discouraged, I began to believe that maybe something bad had happened to them.

Three years ago I returned to our late grandmother's house in Cartagena, and found her as old and lonely as I was. I could no longer fool myself in that mediocre job. For the previous two years I waited in the alley and found nothing. But a few months ago I understood everything, the Dragon Boy and his brothers could not die, because none of them had a life, I grew old and lost the strength to continue transcending. My fragile material life took me away from them, so I decided to give it up, to see if in this way, I could be reunited with my old friends.

I am sure you are thinking that I have lost my mind, and maybe I have. I have no certainty of what will happen, I don't know if all that is left of me is an empty body slumped on the ground, but it is my last resort. I release you from all guilt, I didn't leave because of you, it wasn't because of something bad you did or because you weren't enough. I am sorry for not being the big brother you deserved and expected. I wish you a Merry Christmas.

Original content by the author.
Resources: Tablet ZTE E10Q
Manipulated images from Pixabay
Image/Source
Image/Source
Image/Source
Translated with Deepl.com
All Rights Reserved || @jetta.amaya// 2022


El niño dragón

tapa niño.jpg

Querida Tatiana:

Seguro estarás sorprendida por recibir esta carta, hace tanto que no sabes de mi ni yo de ti. Ya no recuerdo cuando fue la última vez que hablamos, sé que discutimos, que dijimos cosas que tal vez ahora lamentamos, bueno no sé tú, pero yo si lo lamento. No estuve allí cuando me necesitaste, como debería estar cualquier hermano mayor, pero ahora quiero explicarte las razones que me alejaron de ti y de nuestra familia y que me hicieron el hombre solitario que soy ahora. Creerás que es una pérdida de tiempo, seguro piensas que después de tanto tiempo ya no te importan mis razones, pero sé que te culpas, que en ocasiones tratas de recordar que fue lo que hiciste tan mal para que yo te abandonara. Entonces en esta carta te daré la paz que te arrebate todos estos años, mi mejor regalo de navidad.

Todo comenzó aquella navidad que pasamos en Cartagena, estaba toda la familia reunida, seguro que recuerdas. Yo tenía 14 años y tu tenías 10, éramos inseparables, pero ese año tú te habías obsesionado con los buñuelos y yo con los fuegos artificiales. Así que te quedaste en casa disfrutando de la rica comida de la abuela, mientras que yo me fui con otros chicos del vecindario a jugar por las calles con nuestra pirotecnia.

Sentía que estaba volando, que mi cuerpo había estallado de tanta alegría y que mi alma recorría aquellas calles de aspecto colonial, embriagada por los tiernos olores de la comida tradicional navideña y ensordecida por el ruido de los petardos. Cuando de repente una imagen asombrosa detuvo mi marcha en una esquina, en un pequeño callejón oscuro se encontraban un grupo de niños de diferentes edades, unos mayores que yo y otros mucho más pequeños. No tenían camisa ni zapatos, sus cuerpos eran flacos y esqueléticos, sus ojos vacíos me miraban fijamente.

No sé porque lo hice, estaba asustado tal vez, su presencia sombría desencajaba con todo lo que estaba sintiendo dentro de mí. Tome uno de mis petardos y se los arroje. Empezaron las detonaciones pero ninguno de ellos se movió, el fuego bailaba a sus pies y el humo se alzaba ante ellos que seguían inertes mirándome. De repente el más pequeño de todos se acercó a las explosiones se inclinó e inhalo el humo que salía del suelo, aquella nube blanca entro en su pequeño cuerpo en segundos, me miro desafiante, elevo su cabeza a los cielo y exhalo. De él salían humos de todos los colores, acompañados de chipas encendidas que alcanzaban unos tres metros de altura.

El espectáculo fue delirante, algo cambio dentro de mi aquella noche. Lo que sigue ya tú lo conoces bien, cuando terminaron las fiestas no quise regresar a casa, le rogué a papá que me dejara vivir con la abuela en Cartagena, como ya casi cumplía los quince años lo convencí y tu regresaste sola a casa con el corazón roto y sin ninguna explicación de porqué tu hermano y mejor amigo te dejaba.

Desde ese entonces me dedique a buscar al Niño Dragón que cambio mi forma de ver la vida aquella noche de navidad. Con el tiempo descubrí que solo aparecían los 24 de diciembre. Los seguí, me uní a ellos, me aceptaron en su clan de niños malditos. No lo creerás, pero juntos recorrimos mundos que algunos solo pueden imaginar, vidas lejanas a esta vida, donde las personas volaban, o eran enormes, en otras eran muy pequeños. También conocí vidas submarinas, camine por los cielos y descanse sentado sobre el fuego. El Niño Dragón y sus hermanos eran igual en todos los mundos, no tenían camisas ni zapatos, no tenían risa ni voz, con los años descubrí que tampoco tenían alma, vagaban de mundo en mundo buscando su lugar sin ningún éxito. Mis aventuras solo eran posibles durante los 24 de diciembre, después volvía a mi monótona vida junto a la abuela.

Crecí y deje de ser un chico, pero el Niño Dragón y sus hermanos permanecían igual – No puedes morir si no tienes una vida – decía el pequeño dragón cada vez que le preguntaba. Un 24 de diciembre ya no vinieron, quede devastado, no comí ni salí de mi cuarto en días, no imaginaba una vida sin poder recorrer otros mundos, sin ver a otras gentes, esta vida había dejado de ser suficiente para mí.

Desperté una mañana y me vi en el espejo, ya era un hombre maduro, mi vida paso y no me di cuenta. Así que salí a la calle y empecé a buscar algo que me llenara nuevamente, me uní como voluntario en una organización internacional dedicada a apoyar comunidades de bajos recursos. Descubrí que hay niños dragón deambulando por todo este mundo, no tienen ropa, ni zapatos, no tienen nombre, ni tienen voz, no hay navidad para ellos y tampoco un lugar en este diminuto mundo.

Pasé años trabajando para esta organización, viendo vidas humanas padecer y sintiendo como poco a poco me desvanecía. No había un día en el que no pensara en el Niño Dragón y sus hermanos, preguntándome por qué me había dejado. Durante un tiempo pensé que tal vez habían encontrado su lugar en el multiverso, después me desanime, empecé a creer que tal vez algo malo les había pasado.

Hace tres años regrese a la casa de nuestra difunta abuela en Cartagena, la encontré tan vieja y solitaria como yo. No podía seguir engañándome en aquel trabajo mediocre. Durante los dos años anteriores espere en el callejón y no encontré nada. Pero hace unos meses lo comprendí todo, el Niño dragón y sus hermanos no podían morir, porque ninguno de ellos tenía una vida, yo envejecí y perdí fuerzas para seguir transcendiendo. Mi frágil vida material me alejo de ellos, así que he decidido renunciar a ella, para ver si de este modo, me reúno de nuevo con mis viejos amigos.

Seguro estarás pensando que perdí la razón y tal vez sea cierto. No tengo ninguna certeza de lo que pasará, no sé si de mí solo quede un cuerpo vacío desplomado en el suelo, pero es mi último recurso. Te libero de toda culpa, no me fui por ti, no fue por algo malo que hicieras ni porque no fueras suficiente. Lamento no haber sido el hermano mayor que merecías y esperabas. Te deseo una feliz navidad.

Contenido original del autor.
Recursos: Tablet ZTE E10Q
Imágenes manipuladas de Pixabay
Imagen/Fuente
Imagen/Fuente
Imagen/Fuente
Traducido con Deepl.com
Todos los derechos reservados || @jetta.amaya// 2022

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency