The inkwell fiction prompt #46/ NEW YEAR RESOLUTION

img_0.6895243512970746.jpg

Source

What will be your new year resolution as we move gradually into a brown new year?

Mimi asked Mike in a soft tone as she caressed his shoulder.

Mike did not respond for a while as he looked closely at his phone which he was operating.

Hmmm. He responded I don't like it when you don't pay serious attention to serious matters.

Mimi complained about the nonchalant attitude Mike is giving out.

But what do you want me to say? Mike finally responded.

But this is our future we are talking about, Mimi said as she angrily left Mike and went to the bedroom to pick up her handbag and made her way out of Mike's apartment.

Hey! hay!! hay!!! Baby. Mike quickly went after her, please.

But you seem to ignore things even when they are serious and need urgent attention, bo babe it's just that I need more time.

I have given you more than enough time but all seems to be a waste as you show no concern on matters regarding us.

Let's get to the root of this argument.

Mike and Mimi have been in courtship for the past six years and all Mimi wants from Mike is just for him to take her down the Aisle so they could become one.

So all Mimi wants from the question she asked at the beginning of the conversation is to know if marriage is an agenda for next year.

Mike knowing fully what Mimi wants will rather give a deaf ear to the question and behave like it never came but knowing fully what Mimi meant by asking that question.

Back to the argument.

Mike asked Mimi what do you want?

Mimi burst into tears when will you put a ring on my finger? When will I be called your wife? When will we give birth to our children?

When! When!! When!!! She yelled at mike I am sick and tired of all these hide and seek games called relationships.

I think I have to move on with my life since you are not serious.

Know fully that I am not getting younger anymore.

Mike holding Mimi by the hands please don't go. I love you so much and I prioritize you more than anything in my life. You have always been there for me even when I had nothing to show. Is it now that I can boldly stand as a man that you want to leave.

Please let me go back inside let me show you what my new year resolution looks like.

Mimi reluctantly followed Mike back into the sitting room.

He knelt before her as he brought out a little box tied with a red ribbon.

Please Mimi, will you marry me?

The question was a shock as she opened her mouth widely looking at the mike as he became serious for once.

Yessssss!!!!!

She replied in joy as he slotted the ring in her finger.

Now back to the question you asked first.

My new year's resolution is to make you my wife and that I intend to achieve by March so all the process that is concerned with me marrying you starts from this very day.

Mimi couldn't believe Mike at that point.

And so the preparation commenced as they stroll into another year.

2021 the one at the back of the figures signifies single.

2022 the two at the back of the figures signify the two people I don't intend to remain single even when the year says we should be two.

This brought out a good smile from Mimi as she almost forgot she was crying.

Common naughty you. Can you be serious for once as they both laughed at it?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency