Getting Lost in a Sanctuary

I went for a walk one afternoon and I got lost. I have always been poor at directions and I couldn't distinguish the South from North, nor the East and West. And while trying to find my way back, I stumbled upon a beautiful place somewhere. There was a flower bed of different colors just before the entrance and I couldn't keep myself from admiring them.

DSC09654.JPG


Mesmerized, I wandered around the gate for a bit trying to decide whether I'd trespass or not. "Is it even considered trespassing? There's no sign that said 'No Entry' so perhaps, it's open to anybody..." I thought as I paced back and forth by the entrance.

DSC09655a.jpg


Trees, bonsais, flowers, a kiosk... I couldn't keep myself out anymore and went in following the cement-patched walkway. I was in awe of the sights before me. "Oh my gosh! This place is beautiful!" my mind screamed as my eyes excitingly feasted upon the fascinating landscapes.

I gasped muttering "Wow!" Who would have thought such a place like this existed here!

DSC09649a.jpg


I paced slowly as I breathed, taking in the freshness of the surroundings. I wanted to fill my lungs with the wonderful smell of the trees and plants around. I felt zen so I closed my eyes for a while savoring the tranquility of the space.

Moving on, I came across what seems to be a well. "And this is heaven..." I murmured admiring everything out there.

DSC09656a.jpg


"It's good getting lost here..." I couldn't stop mumbling. Well, I can't blame myself though. This place is absolutely gorgeous! And even when lost, one can still get fascinated by the sights. "I could stay here forever!" my thoughts exclaimed too.

Walking a little farther, I heard some faint murmurs ahead of me. I tiptoed slowly, not wanting to catch anyone's attention. I peeked through the little tree and saw a couple by the doorstep of a beautiful tiny house.

DSC09657a.jpg


"Hello there, come over here. Who might be that you are looking for?" I heard the man say that made me wonder who he was talking to. "The girl in white, I was talking to you..." he seemed to have heard my thoughts. "I can see you from here, you know..." he said laughing a bit.

I felt my heartbeat raced.

"Come here, don't worry, we don't bite," the woman spoke gently and smiled beautifully. I was embarrassed so I slowly came out of hiding and walked toward them. "I... I got lost and sorry I entered your property," I reasoned out nervously.

"Haha, you are not alone, many have been lost out there and found their way up here. We are always happy to welcome anyone around." said the man.

"Come, let's go to the garden, it's time for coffee anyway," the woman was really soft-spoken.

DSC09658ab.jpg


I sensed they were a sweet couple so I didn't refuse the invitation. They led me to their beautiful garden filled with Monsteras, Orchids, and many more plants that I didn't know of.

It was so welcoming it felt a little bit of home, although I must admit, it's a lot more beautiful here.

DSC09651.JPG


Aunt Hilda said she had been here since she was a little girl. The place was her parents and it was where she met Uncle Larry, her husband.

They had it that one afternoon, 25 years ago, Uncle Larry was on a job assignment to document the place when he got lost on his way and the rest is history.

"Oh, seriously?" my eyes grew big, surprised.

"Yes. It may sound funny or absurd, but it's true." Uncle Larry laughed happily. "Getting lost can be a good omen," he continued, still laughing.

"Was it fate?" I wondered as I enjoyed the tasty coffee that Aunt Hilda has served that afternoon. We then chit-chatted about many other things.

"Aunt Hilda, if you wouldn't mind, who did the landscaping here? Or is it always been like this ever since?" I couldn't help myself so I asked.

"Oh, it was done by our son, Gabriel. Obviously, he loves nature and so do we," the woman replied with a hint of pride, not on her voice but on how her eyes sparkled.

"I just remembered, he will be arriving today from the town center, he might be on his way up here already." she continued glancing at her wristwatch.

*"Wow, he's done a great job." I replied. Everything around seemed to be in its perfect place. And the zen that one gets here is just so incomparable.

DSC09653a.jpg

"I think I'm gonna go now, it's almost evening and my parents might be looking out for me." I said after many moments have passed and sincerely thanked them for their kind hospitality. My phone was out of battery and I could not inform anyone home of my whereabouts.

"Maybe you can wait for a little while and Gab will drive you home," Aunt Hilda interrupted my thoughts. "You got lost remember? Are you sure you would know how to find your way home?" She went on further.

She was right, I wasn't confident I'd be able to find my way around the area. As I was contemplating on how to go about it, a car arrived and stopped at the parkway. A guy came out and walked straight to where we were. Smiling, he looked at me for a while then hugged the couple saying, "Hello, Ma, Pa"

"Oh, meet our visitor. Her name's Jen," Aunt Hilda was smiling as she introduced her. "This is Gab, our son," she went on. Gab extended his hand, "Pleasure to meet you, Jen" his voice so gentle and his eyes were all smiles too.

"And you are going to drive her home soon. So get to know each other for a little while so you won't feel awkward along the way," his mom smiled teasingly.

"Okay Doki, Mommy! You are the boss!" he said saluting and teasing his mom back which made us all laugh.

I knew right there and then that I'm going to like this family. And I wouldn't mind getting lost once again if I am to land in this beautiful sanctuary.



Hello, amazing Hivers! Thank you once again for reading this wee story of mine which was inspired by the photos that I have captured at the City Park some years ago.



All Original Content & Photos by @iFarmGirl, 14.01.2022, 20:35PH

Hive1.jpg

FarmGirl writes from their lil kingdom in the mountains of PH.
She is also on Read -o- Noise -o- Torum -o- Twitter

Hive - Lower 2022.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
35 Comments
Ecency