The Custody

Source

After seeing the kids get on the school bus and drive off to school. I walked back into the house to get prepared for the day. But first I needed to clear the plates and wash the dishes my kids had used for breakfast before school. Then I'll go take a bath and set out for the day.

I had so much on my to do list today with the important one being the first for the day. And that was a meeting at the attorney's place with my ex husband. It was the final hearing to decide on who would have custody of the kids. I prayed and longed that Smith does not get custody of any of the kids. It wasn't me being unfair, it was me being a mother trying to look out for my kids. I knew Smith was barely home nor cared about the kids' welfare. So having custody of the kids will be a bad idea.

Smith, my ex husband and I had divorced two years back. He was a deadbeat dad, who only remembered to come home when he had squandered all the money he got from work on girls. He barely brought money to pay the bills or for the kids' upkeep. I had to engage in menial jobs in our little community in order to raise up some cash for the family. It got to the point where I couldn't bear it anymore. I packed my bags and the kids and left the house for him at my parents place. This was after I had served him a divorce paper from my attorney. I can still hear him yell from the window on the particular day we moved out.

"You guys would not survive a day without me". He yelled.

But I didn't care. I didn't want my kids to grow up in such a negative environment.

I tried to dress my best making sure I had applied the appropriate make-up. Quickly scanning the house to confirm all was clean and looking myself over the big mirror hanging in the kids room. That was the only room that had a big dressing mirror. I was sure I was ready for the day. I grabbed my bag and dashed off the house. I need to catch up with the free bus heading downtown. As I barely had enough cash and transport fare with me.

Source

Getting to the bus stop. I discovered that I was early enough as the free bus hadn't arrived yet. I sat at a seat made out of concrete on the bus stop and checked my watch. It was just a few minutes before the bus arrived.

I noticed that apart from the roadside hawkers who littered their wares everywhere I was the only commuter waiting for the bus. Few seconds later I was joined by some market women heading into town with their goods for sale, some other passengers and a group of students who could not keep their mouths shut. They kept on talking from the time they got to the bus stop till when the bus arrived and we boarded the bus.

It was a long and rough ride to town. I felt nauseous. I could not tell if it was because of the overcrowded bus, or the funny smell from the market women goods or the group of student chatterboxes at the back of the bus that made me feel so boxed up.
I held on so tight trying hard not to throw up till we got to town.

Finally we arrived downtown and I got off the bus. And made my way to the venue. Smith was already at the attorneys office dressed in a smart shirt and a pair of denim jeans. He smiled at me as I entered the office. I tried so much to avoid his face. The attorney wasn't on the seat yet so we had to wait a few more minutes for his arrival.

Just as I had prayed I got custody of the kids but on the condition that they get to visit their Dad on holidays. I was okay with that and surprisingly Smith was okay with it too. I wondered why he didn't put up a scene and yell at the attorney over his judgement.

My curiosity was quenched when I made my way out of the attorney's office and I heard Smith call out to me. I turned and watched him walk up to me.

"How are you?* He asked.

"I'm good" I replied

"And the kids"

"They're fine" I was surprised. This was not the Smith I knew. He barely ask to know how the kids are faring in the past proceedings or ever since we moved out.

"I just want to say that I'm sorry. I treated you and the kids in a wrong manner and I'm not proud of my actions. I was influenced by friends. I want us back the way we were. You, me and the kids. But I wouldn't force you to go against your wish. So if staying apart is best for you then I can live with that knowing it's my punishment. But for real I'm sorry" he said with so much pain in his eye.

I watched him walk away as a tear dropped in my eye.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency