The Meeting.

"Is this some sort of mockery or what?" Agnes stuttered and was quiet after.

"It's not what you think, Agnes. I just thought you could make some money..." Evelyn tried explaining herself but Agnes wasn't having it anymore.

She ended the call immediately and switched off her phone. "It's not your fault, Evelyn. Among all our friends, I am the only one you could think of all because everyone is married and I am single," Agnes muttered and didn't stop hissing as she thought about the whole discussion again.

Agnes would be 34 in less than three months and she feels offended whenever her friends start any conversation that has to do with marriage. She is a beautiful woman but unlucky with relationships, and it breaks her heart whenever she thinks about her past relationships.

"Hello! Is anyone at home?" Evelyn said as she tapped on the doorbell repeatedly. She troubled about how the conversation ended and rushed down to talk things out with Agnes.

"Agnes, I know you are at home. I am sorry and taking things personally all the time isn't fair. Please open the door," Evelyn screamed and still got no response.

She was about to leave when the door suddenly opened.

"So you have been listening to me all this while? You are so full of yourself Agnes," Evelyn stuttered and just walked away.

Agnes tried stopping Evelyn but she couldn't and immediately regretted treating Evelyn that way.

Agnes reached out to her other friends and explained everything that happened. They blamed her and promised to speak to Evelyn about the issue as well.

The friends did as promised and Agnes promised never to treat any of them badly whenever a relationship discussion comes up among them again.

"I am truly sorry about the other day, I wasn't in a good mood before the call came in. I didn't know what got over me," Agnes stuttered while apologizing to Evelyn during a video call.

"It's okay, I was pissed but that's in the past. I wouldn't bring such offers to you anymore," Evelyn replied.

"You are still angry, Evelyn. Okay, I will go to the photoshoot and we are going together," Agnes replied.

"Honestly, you can choose not to go. It's fine," Evelyn muttered.

"I want to go and we will have a big hang out after," Agnes replied.

"Don't make a promise you won't fulfil," Evelyn stuttered.

"I cross my heart on this," Agnes replied and the girls ended up smiling.


Weeks passed and it was time for the photoshoot. Agnes and Evelyn departed from Lagos to Abuja by flight, and the journey was expected to be less than 3hrs but things didn't go as planned.

Halfway through the journey, the plane developed a fault and the pilot had to land at the nearest airport. Upon landing, the passengers were immediately transferred into another plane heading to Abuja but the two friends had to sit separately.


Source

Hi! Agnes greeted her seatmate immediately she got to her seat.

Hi! Joshua replied and concentrated on his PC.

Agne's eyes were fixed on the window as she enjoyed the view of the ground from the sky very well.

"You want to swap seats?" Joshua asked after watching Agnes for some minutes.

"Oh, sorry. Not really, I just enjoy the view down there. Sorry if I made you feel uncomfortable staring in your direction," Agnes replied.

"It's nothing, we can swap seats. I am busy with my laptop so I don't need the window side," Joshua replied and Agnes couldn't say no to the offer.

They swapped seats and Agnes enjoyed the rest of the journey to Abuja.


"I like his personality, he is a complete gentleman. He is handsome and sweet," Agnes whispered to Evelyn as they went out of the airport.

"Hmmmm! How come you are saying all of this about a stranger? Do you know his name or did he ask for your contact?" Evelyn asked.

"No, he didn't. He was kind though and I hope our paths cross again," Agnes replied.

"You can dream all you want baby girl," Evelyn teased and they took a cab to the hotel booked by the magazine company.

They arrived and settled in the hotel before scheduling a meeting about what the photoshoot would look like the next day.


"Welcome ladies," Mrs. Peterson, The CEO of Love Magazine welcomed Agnes and Evelyn as they stepped into the meeting room.

"Thanks," They replied.

"Please have your seat, the groom will join us in a few minutes. He had a little delay," Mrs Peterson said to them.

"Groom? You sound like I am getting married for real," Agnes replied and everyone in the room couldn't hold back laughter.

While waiting for the groom, they had a brief chat about different stuff and Mrs Peterson enjoyed Agnes company.

About fifteen minutes later, Joshua walked into the meeting room and Agnes was lost in thought for a second.

"The groom is finally here. Welcome Joshua," Mrs Peterson said to the ladies and Evelyn immediately remembered the face.

"Agnes, isn't that the same guy?" Evelyn asked.
"Yes, he's the guy. My wish came through," Agnes replied.

"Oh, Madam. We meet again," Joshua said to Agnes who jumped out of her seat immediately.

"Yes, we did. You can call me Agnes," She stuttered.

"Oh okay. Are you the bride I am getting married to?" Joshua asked jokingly and they all laughed at his joke.

"I am Joshua by the way, it's nice meeting you again. It's a pleasure working with you as well," He said to Agnes and they had the meeting.

Everything went well including the photoshoot and Mrs Peterson was happy about the success of the photoshoot.

Agnes and Joshua exchanged contacts before saying goodbye to each other a day after the shoot.

Agnes and Evelyn arrived back in Lagos and fixed a date to go hang out as promised by Agnes.

"Next week Friday would be perfect," Evelyn suggested before they went their separate ways.

Immediately, Agnes got home. She got a call from Joshua asking if she had arrived home and the conversation went on. They did a brief introduction and it was quite a lengthy call. Joshua didn't stop at that, he called Agnes from time to time and they became friends.

Friday came and Evelyn came prepared for the hangout only to meet Agnes struggling to pick the perfect dress for a dinner date.

"Girl, isn't it just a hangout? What's with the gown?" Evelyn asked.

"Hangout? No, it's a date. We are going on a date," Agnes replied.

"I don't understand you," Evelyn stuttered as she sank into the sofa in Agne's bedroom.

"Oh my God! I didn't tell you," Agnes replied.
"What's that?" Evelyn asked.

"I and Joshua have been talking and he wants us to go on a date this evening," Agnes replied.

Evelyn was shocked and wasn't expecting that. "Are you for real?" Evelyn asked.

"Yes, he is in Lagos as we speak. It's happening fast and I think he likes me," Agnes replied.

$"And you are just telling me all this,"* Evelyn replied and Agnes hugged her.

"I got carried away. It's been a while since a man cared for me like Joshua is doing," Agnes replied.

Evelyn couldn't stay angry for too long and she was excited about the news. She helped Agnes choose the best dress for the date and it was a success.

Agnes and Joshua went on several dates after and a year later, Joshua proposed to Agnes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency