Never To Love Again

"That's not in my resolution for this year so stop persuading me over this issue," Jolade replied Mofeoluwa.

"I understand you and respect your decision. My grandmother used to say that if you close your eyes for the evil ones to pass you by, you might miss out on the good people as well. I would love you to rethink about George," Mofeoluwa replied and the video call ended a few minutes later.

"It seems thes people don't understand what I am going through all in the name of finding a man who I will spend the rest of my life with. Honestly, this shouldn't be difficult but it seems I am just unlucky or probably not destined to get married," Jolade muttered and returned to her laundry.

While doing her laundry, different thoughts crossed Jolade's mind.

"Am I the problem?" She asked herself and got really emotional.

"Richard, Gabriel and Jude in the last two years. I did everything to make them stay but my best wasn't enough," Jolade sighed heavily and fell deep in thought.

"I have other things to do with my life other than trying to make a man stay,"

Swoosh!! The washing machine made a loud noise after some minutes and it brought Jolade back to life. She quickly rushed to turn off the machine and removed the clothes from it.

Source


Upon getting to work on the first of resumption in 2024, Jolade met with George again at the company's garage. At first, she pretended not to see him but George wouldn't stop calling her name until she couldn't pretend anymore.

"Hi, I have been running after you. You are really fast even with heels," George said to Jolade after exchanging pleasantries.

"My bad, I didn't hear you. It's the first day of resumption in the new year and there are lots of things about work on my mind," She replied.

"Oh okay, that's true. I tried calling severally on the first day of the year just to wish you a happy new year but you didn't pick up," George replied.

"I didn't pick it up George and hope you understand that aside from a work relationship, I don't want anything with you. Please I might become rude to you if you just don't let me be," Jolade replied.

"It's not what you think and honestly, all I wanted was to say hello like I did to our other colleagues," George stuttered. He barely finished explaining himself before Jolade walked out on him.

George felt embarrassed and couldn't concentrate at work day. He joined the company back in the third quarter of 2023 and has been wooing Jolade for some weeks after he arrived.

Weeks passed and George didn't get the opportunity to speak Jolade again. He thought of asking about her from his colleagues but George didn't want to make his feelings for Jolade a public thing so he just waited hoping he would get the perfect opportunity someday.

In April, the company's MD celebrated his birthday over the weekend and all the staff were present. Throughout the event, George's eyes were fixed on Jolade.

"The party is just starting, you shouldn't be going by this time or you have something more important to attend to," George asked Jolade as she was going out of the MD's mansion.

"George, please don't let me regret stopping to answer you," Jolade replied.

"Regret? There is no big deal in your turning me down when I asked you out and we can still be friends. I am sorry if I make you feel uncomfortable," George replied.

"Friends? Really? I am actually going home because of my daughter," She replied.

"Wow, I didn't know that you are married with kids. I am sorry for trespassing," George replied.

"That's okay. I am a single mother though so don't talk about marriage because you guys are just unbelievable sometimes," Jolade said to George before heading to her car.

"How can a beautiful lady like this be a single mother? Are men crazy?" A lot of questions ran through George's mind as he watched Jolade drive off.

George returned to the party but the music and every other thing didn't make sense to him anymore, it became clear that he was there because of Jolade.

"Good morning Jolade," George greeted immediately they met at work after the weekend.

"Morning George," She replied with a faint smile.

"How was the weekend?" George asked and she answered.

"How is your daughter?" George asked.

"Dropped her at school already," Jolade answered sharply and just froze after.

"George, how did you know about my daughter?" Jolade asked furiously.

"You told me at the party, don't you remember?" George replied.

"Oh, I did? It must have been that wine I drank. Have you told anyone my little secret?" Jolade asked.

"Secret? I don't get you," George replied

"No one here knows about it and things must remain that way," Jolade replied.

"I don't have the intention of telling anyone, why should I? Why are you hiding such?" George asked.

"I never said I was hiding and it's personal," Jolade replied before walking away.

"This is strange," George muttered.


Every morning George made sure he greeted Jolade even though she wouldn't respond properly and somehow, they started communicating. Things went smoothly between them and Jolade willingly gave George her contact.

Their friendship grew stronger and George finally met Vivian, Jolade's daughter. They became best friends and Jolade's heart melts whenever she sees them playing together.

"He might be a good guy," Jolade told Mofeoluwa while they were chatting.

"I haven't met him but from the moment you said he asked you out last year, I felt he might just be the man for you," Mofeoluwa replied.

"We can't be too sure, he has a strong connection with Vivian. Sometimes, she insists on speaking to him before going to sleep." Jolade replied. The conversation went on for some time before they said goodnight to each other.

George has won Jolade's heart but she couldn't tell him yes because she wasn't sure if the feeling was still there. Jolade took her time to learn about George and she was wowed.

George didn't go beyond the friendship level and Jolade became impatient after some time.

One evening, George came over to check up on Vivian and Jolade couldn't hold it anymore as George bid Vivian goodbye.

"You going again," Jolade stuttered.

"Yes, it's getting late. You know Lagos traffic," George replied.

"It looks like you only come here for Vivian's sake now," Jolade stuttered.

"Don't tell me you are jealous," George replied.

"Am I? Maybe yes, I have never seen my daughter this happy. She likes you and I want that to last forever, I want you to be the father she never had. I am sorry," Jolade stuttered and wanted to leave George but he didn't allow her.

He asked how Vivian came into her life and Jolade told the story. It was a sad one and with everything that has happened to her all in the name of seeking love, Jolade has the right to lock her heart forever but love doesn't work that way.

George and Jolade went on a few dates before 2024 ended, the last of them was a remarkable one. George proposed to her and they got married in the first quarter of 2025.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency