A Friend That Prevents A Vacuum

I still remember vividly over four months ago on our way to the hospital for the delivery of our son. Hubby asked if he could call my mom and informed her of our situation, struggling with pains in my waist from the baby contractions. I said no, call Billy.

I never wanted to bother her at that time but she is the only one else I have in this state aside from my cousin's sister who was in another town writing her Master's examination. Billy was about seven months gone as well into her pregnancy but I was sure she could give me the moral support I needed at that critical time.

Since my mom had not arrived yet, telling her my condition at that time will just put her in a worried state. So, until I gave birth I decided not to inform her. Even when we had to go for a C-section, I told hubby to wait till I came out of the theater before informing my mom. Otherwise, it will just throw her into confusion.

At the time I came out of the theater, it was around quarter past two in the afternoon. Billy was already on her way to meet us, and in that short period, she was able to prepare pounded yam with scent leave soup, our new mom's local soup for healing of the stomach. It was already prepared before she knew I did surgery and won't be able to eat just yet.


Our Background story

I met Billy in my second year during my National Diploma Program in the year 2012, she was so calm, kind, and very caring. We met through a mutual friend but ever since we came close, she has been a great blessing to me.

I was never the kind that relied on friends that much. I prefer to do my things but on the other hand, I can go through anything just to make sure the people I care about are okay.

But with Billy I became free, I could relate with her freely and rely on her for anything. When I fell sick, she would be there for me. She would most times, leave her house to spend time at my lodge in her free time and because of her caring nature for the very first time, I learned to lean on friends, seek help when in need, trust, and allow myself to be cared for.

Our friendship left a great hole in my heart after my Higher National Diploma. Though we keep in touch on the phone, I deeply missed all the things we used to do together in school.


After my schooling and NYSC year, I moved to Lagos state while she got married and relocated to Kaduna state, a Northern part of the country while I was in the Southwestern part.

I missed her deeply, always wishing we could go back to our school days. However, as fate would have it, I got married in 2021 and in March last year, I relocated and joined my husband in the same Kaduna state where she lives. Because of our friendship, I never had to feel too bad leaving Lagos because I knew I had a true friend waiting for me here.

I always wondered why she cared and loved me so much. Billy is more than a sister to me.


The most kindness I ever received as a mom came from her on the day of my delivery on September 18 last year.
What she did for me during this critical time is something I appreciate and won't ever forget. She took over everything and took care of me and my baby.

That day I could barely hold my baby in my hands because of my surgery. At that point she became our only hope, she took care of my baby, throughout the night while all I could do was give them a big smile and stare at them.

Hubby went through so much stress during the delivery process and was so tired. Tiredness aside, he didn't know how to care for a newborn. If not for Billy it could have been so bad for us. As the nurses in the hospital were not forthcoming with much assistance.

Even in her condition, she slept over at the hospital, something only a true friend will do. After we left the hospital on the fourth day, she still finds time from her busy schedule to visit us many times. At some point, I had to tell her she needed to stay at home and rest for a while due to her pregnancy as my mom was now around to look after us.

IMG_20230131_085436_829~2.jpg

Each time I look at my baby I can't help but think about her kindness toward us, and how much care she has shown me when I needed it the most.
The absence of my mom whom I had thought would create a vacuum at that crucial moment was filled by my friend. I remain grateful for having her.

The Image in this publication is mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency