The Big Stage

Everyone started laughing, and I was wondering: Was that really funny? I looked at my mom and dad; they were laughing at the lame joke I made. They started calling me a comedian, a funny guy, and that gave me the courage to get on stage that day.



Ever since I was little, making friends was never an issue for me because I was tagged as the funny one among my friends. It was never boring when I was around, especially with my friend Daniel by my side. I was always at the centre of all shenanigan acts because I always made jokes out of everything.

That evening, after I came back from school, I was surprised to meet my dad at home; he was mostly coming home late, or I wouldn’t see him for a day. I was so happy to see him that I forgot to take off my backpack. With all the last energy I had, I ran to offer him a hug. “My boy,” he said as he drew me into the air, then caught me again. “Daddy, did you run away from work since you’re home early?” He burst into laughter. Since I was genuinely posing a serious question, I wondered what was making him giggle.

He dropped me and said no; he only came home early because he was on leave. I was glad to have my dad at home with us. It was dinner time, and we were to have rice, fish sauce, and plantains. “I won’t let the long rice escape my plate because I want to grow tall like them.”

Everyone started laughing again, including my sisters. Was my comment that good, or do they have a very good sense of humour? That night, everything I said became a joke, which made everyone very happy. I started wondering if comedy was my calling.



Months later, the school talent show was announced, and I felt this was the time to spread my fame around the school. I would use my comedy talent on the stage; everyone has always told me I am funny and I am a comedian, so what could go wrong? The day came like a delivery day; there was panic in the air since it was my first time. I was at the back of the stage, waiting for my name to be called.


Image generated from POE AI

"Hello everyone! Let’s welcome Mr. Fash to the stage to share some comedy." I started making my way to the stage with sweaty palms; I couldn’t hold the mic properly. I looked around, and I could see so many angry and unhappy souls. “Oh God, how am I going to make these sad people laugh?” was my thought. I took the mic and said, “So many sad people are here; I should have brought a laughing gas.”

“Hahahahaha” filled the hall, and my confidence started to build up. I went on and on, and everyone was laughing even after I left the stage. I guess I was born with a good sense of humour.

Anyway, there are some people out there that I would tell a joke to, and they wouldn’t laugh. I think the situation in the country has made them lose their sense of humour, and nothing seems funny to them anymore.

I’m still fun to be with; if you meet me, I will definitely make you laugh or smile, at least. Are you smiling right now? I guess my charm also works online. Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency