I was blowing hot and cold

premium_photo-1663089871353-c36bd9f42709.jpeg

"It's my last semester Mom. After that, I will find a good job and you will see how I will help in house expenses."

I said this to my Mom when she was worried about the high electricity bill. My father was the only earner of the family. All my life I had seen him working hard to provide our needs, so I always wanted to support him to reduce his burden. I studied hard and was the only child of my family who was about to graduate. I completed my graduation with high hopes and I was excited to step into my practical life. I never knew before that how hard it is. After getting my degree in my hand I decided to find a job.

I used to think that my job would be waiting for me after my graduation and that I would get one as soon as I completed my education. But sadly, just then the coronavirus hit the world and lockdown was imposed everywhere. It was a very hard time in my life but as soon as things got better I applied to many institutions and gave many interviews but couldn't get a job. I was hopeless. One day, I was sitting in my lounge when I received a call from an unknown number. They informed me that my application has been approved and now they want to interview me. I was happy to hear this.

"Hurrah! Mom! Finally, it's going to happen. They just called me to inform me about the interview date. I am hopeful this time."

"It's not the easiest thing, mostly things go in favor of those who get recommendations."

"O Mom! Don't be so hopeless!"

"My dear! You are not aware of this mean world, you do have not much experience yet. If you would hardly be able to find a job, the salary would not be according to your expectations."

Perhaps my mom was well aware, so whenever I talked about my job, she never gave a positive response. Anyway, I got ready for the interview date and reached there on time. My interview went well and I was hopeful. The next day, they informed me that my job had been confirmed. Hearing this my happiness was at its peak. I joined it the next day, but when I got there, I was baffled about the salary. It was too small.

All my happiness was gone because my salary was not according to my expectations. I spent 16 years of my life being a graduate person. My parents spent their hard-earned money on my education, but what I was going to return was nothing. The job I got after so many hurdles had lost my interest. At one moment I wanted to join it, but the very next moment I was not ready to go. My heart was broken and I was blowing hot and cold.

The next day, my mom came to woke up me, but I refused as I didn't want to continue this job.

"Are you not going today? It's going late."

" No Mom! Please let me sleep!"

" But why? Are you gonna take leave for today?"

"Perhaps! I replied in sleep.

"You have just joined a day ago and today you are on leave. It's not good to take leave at the beginning of your job."

I tried to convince her, but she was not hearing me. So I woke up and told her the truth that I was not going to continue this job anymore. But my father did not agree with my decision and convinced me with these words,

"Look, my dear! No one can achieve success in one day. You would have to struggle for it. No matter, how much salary they are offering you, never forget that this small job will build your confidence. It will make you ready to do better in life."

These words became my power and I decided to continue the job. I did my job honestly and put all my efforts into doing better. Soon I got promoted and my salary was also increased. Now, it's been a year that I have still doing the same job and hope to achieve more in my life.

The End!
Image source.
https://unsplash.com/photos/a-woman-suffering-from-depression-and-lying-on-floor-with-her-hands-covering-head-on-black-background-LkBGg9Cv_ec

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency