Will I Ever Forget This?

Will I Ever Forget This?

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

One of the things I hate immensely is going to charge my mobile phone at someone's house. There are so many risks attached to it. It's either, your phone doesn't get charged or it gets missing. Sometimes it could even be your charger. I had that kind of experience severally.

So, what I do is, anytime we have a power problem in our home and am forced to charge my phone in another person's house, I stay there until my phone gets fully charged or reaches a reasonable percentage. but that can be so stressful.



One of those days, i was still in my final year in highschool. I was in my room enjoying light when I heard a bang on my door, " who's it?" I asked angrily, I hate it when people interrupt my quiet time. "It's the Abuja Electricity Distribution Company (AEDC) personnel come and show us your light bill," a deep voice responded.

Hmm! I scrolled through my contacts instantly, dialed my uncle's number and I got the worst news of my life, he didn't pay. I came out of the room took the bill from his room and gave it to them. I discovered we owed for about two months, he didn't pay fully for the previous month.



I was not having money anywhere to salvage the moment. There was no amount of begging we didn't do but they were adamant. In no time, they disconnected the light and went their way. Days turned into weeks and there was no light and no one seemed to be bothered about it. The reason is, that no one wants to take responsibility upon himself entirely, and again to contribute money is to fix it is another issue.

Although I said I was not going to take my phone to anyone's house for charging, after visiting many charging centers and spending money. I decided to start charging at my neighbor's house.



One day, I took my phone for charging and I decided to wait until my phone was charged, as my custom is. We were like five in the room watching a movie and having good moments. After some hours my phone got charged, I picked it up and left saying "thank you" to the owner of the house in the compound.

When I got home, a few minutes later, their father sent for me. I didn't hesitate, I came. When I entered the room, I saw several others there, including my mom.



"Good afternoon", I greeted all of them." where is the phone you took while going out?" Their father asked. Hmm, I became confused, I presented my phone, here is it. "Young man we are not here to joke," the father responded. I felt so embarrassed. "What phone sir? This is the phone I left here with." I tried to defend myself.

My Mom called me aside and asked if I had taken any phone, I explained everything to her. She looked at me quietly and whispered "Kingsley said he saw you took a black Nokia phone on your way out alongside your phone. If it's in your possession just let me have it so that we can end this matter here." I got pissed up and asked for Kingsley but they refused to let me see him.



At the end of the day, I agreed I was going to pay for the phone, my plan was, that I would sell mine out and give them the money because I was not having any money on the ground. I did that to just end the dispute

I was surprised how the news spread so fast in the community that I stole someone's phone, I got so ashamed and didn't feel okay to go out that day. The following day I heard that they found the phone under their television stand. The father came to our house and apologized to my Mom and me, Gosh, I felt so bad.



"The story Kingsley made up has already spoiled my name in the community, and you are here telling me that you are sorry. How would you make up for my name and image that has been tempered with now?" I thought quietly within.

I sighed and said "It's okay, let gone be by gone" To date we don't know whether it was someone who took the phone or they just didn't look for it properly. After that experience, I stopped going to charge my phone at people's house. I rather go to charging centers no matter the cost.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency