The Risky Journey I Took Back Home

The Risky Journey I Took Back Home

Photo by Lachlan Ross

After moving into my new apartment, many of my friends started demanding to see me. Some I declined but some I have no option than to consent. You know there are people you just can't say no to.

I stumbled on Peter on the blue App (Facebook) after a very long period of time, not that he has not been around but ever since I changed environment things changed, I stopped calling and stopped caring. It's just me and my life down here looking for how to survive.



After a long chat, we exchanged contact and he demanded to come and see me. well, I missed him I won't lie, he is one of the funniest friends I have. I gave him my location and he gave me a date.

On a fateful Sunday evening, my phone rang and it was him, "Good evening brother, hope you prepared some chicken because I am already on my way to your house." " Peter you would never change, I am home bro, but there is nothing like chicken" I replied. A few minutes later he called again, "I am at your junction, come and pick me up". I didn't hesitate, I walked out of the house to the junction and there was he, A slim tall, nice-looking young man.



We hugged each other and teased ourselves on the way. Peter loves talking, and as I said earlier on, he is funny, you can't be around him and not enjoy his company. After so much talk. I checked the time it was already past 9 in the evening, and he seemed not to be interested in living anytime soon.

"Peter, this area is not as innocent as you see it, there has been a record of crimes ranging from snatching of phones and house burgling recently". I tried to give him a reason why he should start going home but his response was "Don't worry bro, I am good."



We spoke and got tired and slept off, around 11:00 pm I was tapped, "Wake up, wake up, I want to go home it's late", I raised my head and gave him an angry look. 'Please bro" he added. "Just pass the night you can go back home in the morning I told you how insecure this place is let's not put ourselves in danger tonight," I answered him while trying to go back to sleep but he insisted he must go home that night.

His parents had already given him a lot of Missed calls, his phone was on silent, he gave me reasons why he could not sleep at my place that night and I gave in. I stood up opened the door and in no time we were at the main road. We waited for over 30 minutes and there was no bike coming that way. It was already late. "Don't you think we should just go back and sleep? Tomorrow morning you can still go home, " I tried to convince him again but his mind was made up. He is a mommy's boy, so I understand him.



"Okay fine, there is a shortcut I know it can lead us to town but the road is lonely and full of trees if you are tough enough we can go through it" I jokenly said that thinking he was going to give up. "Yes please, let take it" he replied without hesitation.

We took that road and it was so lonely, just the birds chirping and the breeze blowing. I got scared at some point but as we continued moving and talking I soon lost my fears. It was about 41 minutes journey. When we reached somewhere almost close to his house, I told him I was leaving him there.



It was then I realized how terrible the journey I was about to take was, I checked the road and everywhere was dark without anyone moving in that direction. Different thoughts started flowing into my mind while I was coming back. What if someone, just pounced on me from nowhere and snatched my phone? What if I get kidnapped? I realized that my decision to walk that road was irrational but then I muster courage and I kept coming.

I got frightened by the sound of everything I heard. If I had taken the main road it would have even been better but I can't because the police were patrolling on the road by that time. I thought of using my phone's light but, I remembered there were many records of phones being snatched on that same road.



So, I decided to trek in darkness with my heart beating, but you know I am a man, I kept pushing even though I knew it might not be safe. Luckily, after a long walk, I saw the light on a bulb from a distance, I sighed. Finally, I was on my street. It was then I became relieved, so, I on my flashlight and completed the journey.

When I got home it was almost 2:00 Am, I blessed God for journey mercy and I promised myself never to take such risk again. it was at home that I started reasoning properly, apart from the threats from thieves on the road, what if I stepped on a snake or encountered a dangerous animal? Hmm! That place was a thick bush but God was faithful though.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
26 Comments
Ecency