Letting It Go For My Good

Letting It Go For My Good

Photo by Tobias Bjørkli

"Good afternoon ma, is Emreal at home?" Friday asked My Mother after greeting her.

"Afternoon my dear, he is in his room but he has been acting strange since morning. I could sense there is a turbulence going on in his heart but he won't talk to anyone," My mother replied.

"Ahn, Ahn, let me check him out," Friday responded as he walked towards my door.

I didn't want to talk to anyone. I know my Mom is worried, but I can't help it. The easiest way for me to cool off when I am going through a moment of turbulence is to get away from people and be alone, and quiet in my room.

I expected my Mom to tell Friday I wasn't at home because each time I entered the room and locked the door, she knew that I was either busy or something was bothering me but I was surprised she did the contrary that day.

When I heard footsteps approaching my door, I silenced my phone and kept mute. "Emreal, Emreal," Friday called from outside.

"I know you can hear me, just come and open the door before I start banging hard on it," he added when he noticed I wasn't responding.

A few minutes without a response from me I started hearing heavy knocks on my door.



I know Friday too well, he was never going to stop except when I opened the door. "Who is it?" I answered from within as I walked to the door and opened it halfway, putting my head outside.

"Oh! It's you," I said with a forced smile. "Hmm, yes it is me," he replied, looking at me with his hands akimbo.

"Come on man, don't give me that look, I was asleep while you were knocking," I told him, faking a yawn and rubbing my eyes with my left hand.

"Wow, I see, well, those eyes don't look like the ones that are just waking up from sleep, please give me the way," Friday responded while he took off his shoes and walked inside the room leaving me at the door.

I quietly walked back to the bed and sat down, trying to act fine, "welcome bro, what can I serve you?" I asked.

"Emreal, forget about serving, what is wrong with you?" He inquired.

"Nothing, I am totally fine," I replied sniffing, as I lay on the bed.

"I won't take that from you, I met your mom on my way in and she is so worried about your behavior today. What happened?" Friday asked again, fixing his eyes on me.

I was quiet for some moment then stood up and picked my phone from the table. I took some time scrolling and he didn't say a word afterward but was curiously looking at me with his hand folded and mouth agape.



"Take, see for yourself?" I told Friday as I handed over the phone to him.

"I knew it," Friday shouted, brother, break up with that girl and have some peace, this lady has caused you emotional turbulence several times. Is this not enough of a red flag for you?" He asked, looking so angry, you could see wrinkles on his forehead.

"Bro, Joy is a nice lady, I love her so much. Maybe she is just confused. It's not as if I am not seeing all the red flags but I don't know what to do, a lot is going on in my mind right now, I like this girl badly, I am so confused," I replied.

"I see you've been charmed, she's cheating and you have evidence, look at her snapping crazy pictures with other guys and posting but she will never do the same with you or are you not seeing the pictures clearly for yourself? Even if she isn't cheating you guys are not compatible. You shouldn't be with someone that will always give you trouble, causing you heartache," Friday responded, handing over the phone to me.

"Thank you, bro, I heard you, I will think about it," was what I told him after that piece of advice.

I felt relieved by his presence, I would have missed it if I hadn't opened up to him.



Joy is a very nice lady, but she has been giving me hard moments ever since we started dating. i don't want to say she's a flirt, she's a good girl but she does suspicious things with other guys.

Since we started dating, she has been refusing to snap with me or even post my pictures but you see her post her pictures with other guys. It hurts, she tells me she's busy when I want to see her but I have seen her on a bike with other guys several times.

Some guys even tell me she visits them but when it comes to me she barely visits. She acts like she loves me whenever we are privileged to meet but her actions portray a different thing when we ain't together.

My friend told me to let go of her because of how she had been treating me, but I refused because I believed I knew whom I was dating. Whenever we are together, she makes me feel loved and that was enough for me.

I was scrolling through a news feed on Facebook that day when I saw a post she made with a guy carrying her on his back. What? I couldn't believe my eyes.

I instantly called to know what was going on but she spoke rudely to me. I didn't just know what to do, that was why I shut myself in the room in order to calm the storm raging in my heart.

After Friday left, I had a deep thought. "This is not the first time I have talked to her about things like that. If she truly loves me, I am sure she would respect me and my feelings, something must be off somewhere. It's time I wake up from that love fever."



A few weeks later, I put a call through and she picked up, "Babe how are you?" I inquired.

"I am fine dear," she replied.

"Please, can you do me a favor?" I demanded.

"What is it dear, speak on," she answered.

"I want us to see, I could come over to your place if you don't mind," I responded.

"Emm, okay, don't worry, I'll come down to your house instead," Joy replied.

"Huh! For real?" I asked, surprised.

She said, "Yes, I'll come tomorrow when I am done with house chores."

"Hmm ! Okay dear, see you tomorrow," I replied as I hung up the call but I was skeptical about the coming.

The next day, at exactly 3:00 PM Joy called, "I am on my way," she quickly uttered, then hung up.

In a few minutes, I heard the sound of a bike outside. I went out to check and it was her. She was wearing a black skirt and a white long sleeve holding a black purse.



We hugged and went into the room. After conversing for some time, I couldn't hide what was in my mind anymore. "Babe, what's up with the picture you posted that day and the kind of response you gave me when I called?" I inquired.

She looked at me with a dull face then put her head down. "I am sorry, it was not intentional," she replied.

"It's okay babe, I understand," I calmly responded.

"The guy I snapped with is my boyfriend, we've not been on good terms when I accepted you but he's now back and ready to make things work. Emreal am so sorry for making you go through pain," Joy apologized after making things clear.



"Hm," I sighed. "It's okay, maybe we should just be friends," I replied, faking a smile.

She looked at me and said, "I'm sorry, I know I hurt you, but if that's what you want, then it's fine with me."

"Yes dear, that's the best thing to do," I managed to reply after staying mute for a moment.

After the conversation, I walked her to the main road where she boarded a motorcycle and went home.

That was how we ended the relationship, but we are still cool to date, we chat and call each other from time to time. Friday was happy when I told him about our break up and he advised me to stay away from the relationship for some time but stubborn, it didn't even take me two months before I went into another relationship.


Thanks For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency