A Quest For A Greener Pasture

A Quest For A Greener Pasture

Photo by fauxels

Allen met Timi, one of his good friends during high school on social media recently. Timi claimed to be working with a company that is doing very well in Lagos. He felt pity for Allen when he discovered that he wasn't doing anything reasonable, so he introduced him to the company he was working with and Allen picked interest.

"I don't know why I still find it difficult to believe that the job opportunity Timi is offering you at Lagos is genuine," Williams told Allen while they were conversing on their way home.

"Me neither but I know Timi, he is a good man, He is trustworthy. Moreover, the evidence is obvious, you can testify through his pictures on social media, that the guy is doing well. I even heard he is building a house in his village currently. Imagine young Timi earning $300 monthly, bro isn't that huge? Going by his explanation, with my qualifications, I should be earning not less than $200 monthly for a start," Allen replied.

Hmm, Williams sighed and said, "But I will advise you to do more research before taking the offer. Lagos is not a place for children, if things should go south down there for you, it will not be funny."

"Come on man, there is a popular qoute, You live once. Opportunities like this are rare, if we don't take certain risks now, when are we going to do so? And, What if this is my chance? I appreciate your take on the matter but I am definitely giving this a try," Allen replied.

Allen and Williams have been job hunting ever since they finished college about three years ago. They sought jobs in both private companies and that of the government but got none. They later ended up teaching in one of the private schools within their community in order to cater to their needs, being that they are both single men.

"Good morning students," Williams greeted his students.

"Good morning, Mr Williams," the entire students answered.

"Wow! I love the energy in your voices. please have your seats. What did we discuss in our previous lesson?" he asked the students after writing English Language on the blackboard.

There were different hands raised, b
"beautiful, I love what I am seeing," he praised them. Micheal, he pointed at the quiet guy in class, tell us," William ordered.

The student stood up, and said "Synonyms sir." "Is he correct?" Williams inquired from the class. "Yes sir," they replied in one accord.

"Please, a round of applause for him," Williams demanded. While the students were still clapping.

Allen entered the classroom, "Good morning Mr Allen, "The students stood up and greeted.

"Morning students, how are you?" He asked, facing them. "We are fine, thank you, sir," They replied. "You can have your seats," he responded and shook Williams.

"Please excuse me for a moment," Williams excused his students and dragged Allen to the porch.

"How far, I didn't hear from you yesterday, what happened?" Williams asked.

"Eya, I am so sorry, I got busy, I just wanted to tell you I'll be going home. I got permission from the school authority. when you close from work, please come to my house before you go home, I have something to tell you," Allen replied beaming.

You could see joy all over his face. "I hope all is well. Are you going somewhere?" Williams asked out of curiosity.

"All is perfectly well, don't worry, when you close from work, I will be home, and we will talk," Allen replied.

"Alright, Uncle Allen, let me not keep my students waiting, I'll come as soon as we close, I just hope it's good news," Williams replied as he bade Allen goodbye and returned to the classroom.

"So sorry students, Williams" apologized when he entered the class still holding a piece of chalk in his hand. "So today, we will be talking about antonyms, Antonyms are words that…" he continued.

After his lesson, as his custom is, he went and sat quietly operating his phone in their old staff room that looks like a hall, with teachers' desks facing each other by the left and right.

"Mr Williams, it's the school's sports day. Let's go outside and have some fun, aren't you feeling the vibes of the cheers coming from outside?" Titi asked.

"Titi, I am fine, you know I am not a lover of sport," he replied.

"What? Is there anything you ever like in your life? Well, sorry to say this but you are missing so much. I love everything that has to do with sport, especially basketball, it gives me goosebumps," she responded, as closed the book she was reading.

Williams laughed hard over the goosebump thing and said, "You only live once, please go and enjoy your youthful age. I'll soon join you."

Miss Titi chuckled, "Okay, see you outside then, don't stay bored in here." She replied and walked out of the room.

Titi is one of the jovial staff in the school, she is full of compassion and always loves seeing both her colleagues and students happy all the time.

Williams later joined his colleagues but he didn't participate in any of the sports activities, he only watched those playing.

After school, he didn't hesitate, he went straight to Allen's house. "knock, knock," Williams knocked at the door.

"A minute please," Allen shouted from within as he walked down to the door.

"Please come inside," he said after opening the door.

"Why are you packing things in bags like this," Williams asked as he sat on the wooden chair close to Allen's bed.

"Ha!" Allen opened his mouth wide looking at Williams. "Let's greet first at least?" Allen replied.

"Who does greetings help? answer me jare," Williams responded smiling.

"Alright, I am going to Lagos. Everything is in place. I spoke with Timi and he said, I should go over," Allen replied.

"Oh! Now I see why you took permission from the school. I knew that something was behind that joy on your face this morning. Meanwhile, you missed a lot. The sport today was one of a kind." Williams responded.

"Actually, I didn't take permission, I resigned," Allen replied.

"This is serious, it means you have planned this out for a long time and you didn't even care to let me know, when have you started keeping secrets?" Williams asked.

"Am sorry man, I planned to tell you but I knew you wouldn't consent. That was why I did everything secretly, please forgive me," Allen apologized instantly, looking sober.

"It's okay, bro, when are you leaving?" Williams asked.

"Tomorrow by morning", Allen replied.

"Wow! That means I won't be able to see you off, I'll be going to work. But whatever the case is, we will talk on the phone. I need to be on my way now, I am expecting a visitor," Williams responded.

"Okay, but please let me get you something to eat first, I know you are famished," Allen pled.

Williams stood up and said, "No, thank you, you don't have to bother yourself, I have some food left at home."

Allen walked him some distance and they hugged each other and left for their homes. Williams was not okay with Allen's decision to travel out for that job but there was nothing he could do.

"The following day Allen left. As soon as he landed, he called and informed Williams that he had arrived. They continued communicating for some time and gradually, their communications got breached.

After a month, Allen called Williams, and after they finished exchanging greetings, he broke the bad news, "Bro I have been scammed."

"Scammed? how? Williams asked, confused.

"I gave Timi, three hundred thousand Naira to register me with their company, only to get here, and discover that I would be Hawking drugs and agricultural products on the street. There is nothing like a salary, and even what you earn from sales which is very little often is not completely yours. I have been played, willy, Allen replied.

"What?" Williams exclaimed.

"That's not even the problem, I don't have a place to live. If you see where I sleep, you will pity me. Feeding has also been a major problem for me for the past three weeks. Timi just left me stranded, he doesn't even live in Lagos, he is in Ibadan. As we speak, I have quitted the job, and am now a salesboy. I just want to gather enough money and return home," Allen replied, sobbing over the phone.

Hmmm, Williams sighed and said, "Please don't cry. But I told you I don't believe that Timi guy. Bro, my problem with you is you keep secrets a lot. If you had told me he demanded money, I wouldn't have let you go."

"Am sorry Williams," Allen replied over the phone.

"It's okay, this is a lesson for all of us. Thank God nothing bad happened to you, send me your account details, I'll send you some money, use it to come back home," Williams replied.

"Ah!" Allen Exclaimed, Thank you, sir," he responded. Immediately after the call, he forwarded his bank details and just as promised, Williams sent him some money.

He returned home two days later, and Williams was so happy to have him back.

Thank You For Reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency