BEYOND

Forget the moments, the thrill and the anxiety that comes with new territory, this is plain terrifying. I can't even begin to count the horrible process of it all but for the sake of understanding, I'll try to be as simple as possible.

I was nothing but a whisp of the imagination, a knowing that hadn't yet been brought to life. Am I even living? That's yet to be seen.

It all began upstairs. I don't even remember my birth, I only know this black hole. The walls rub on me all the time. Soft tissues that create illusions of caresses on my...outer layer. Even now, I'm waiting my turn.

You see, we all take turns and like the guy upstairs always says, I'm one but I'm many. I get to live and breathe for a short amount of time while the city I sleep in just buzzes over my head.

Even now, I can feel the constant bugging of Macky.

"Yo Ex. How's it going on?"

I don't bother speaking. One of these days, he'll get himself exterminated. He's a pest for all I know. I met him here. A very loud peasant with no acknowledgement whatsoever for boundaries and common courtesy.

"I see you're still brooding. Can't wait to exit this sty huh?" Macky continued, his languid body irritating the hell out of me.

"Run along and get lost in your shelves of meat Macky." I use as much energy as I could muster.

The wall contracts around me again. Seems I may be too big for the exit if the constant vibration of the walls says something.

"I heard it's not really good out there. I'm just glad I have these." Macky says and wiggles his tiny little pincers.

"I don't care." I sigh.

I do actually. What is outside this place? I've heard that many of my kind have come and gone and never returned.

"You know, I watched you get made."

That piques my interest just as the walls contracts again. Tighter this time and I felt a slight pull. This is it!

"What do you mean you watched me?"

"I mean I did pick a little from the lot that was you but more still kept coming." Macky gave a dreamy sigh, his white body defying the cast of darkness.

"I'm lost."

"I watched those crazy lots do awful things to you. A pool of boiling water? Check. Fixed through a tiny tube? Check. Dissected and separated till half of you went up and this you came down? Check."

My eyes, if I had any, bulged out their sockets. What does he mean Dissected and separated?

"Yep. Your other half is running from the office you know. Becoming anti-bodies and all. You, my friend, are what's known as excess. You know what that means?"

Macky's face had shifted and he had a crazed glint in his eye. His white glowed brightly.

"You're not so important. You're excess and unwanted. And look... Your train..." Macky gestured to a the far end of the tunnel where a light peeked at the edges.

The walls shut down on me, squeezing me. All the while, Macky's words kept ringing in my ears. Unwanted? Other half?

It felt as though a force was pulling me, beckoning me to come. I didn't put up much fight, I actually wanted to leave that place but now, I felt fear for the unknown.

"Ugh!"

I kept falling till I felt cool liquid engulf me. It was still dark but the walls this time around were bright just like Macky. I could see them but couldn't feel as I had limited movement.

"Good riddance."

I heard and the darkness gave way to a brilliant light. Before I had time to adjust, a gurgling sound was all I heard before I felt myself being pulled apart by the sheer force of more liquid.

And now, it was more darkness. Except...

"Hi. I'm Poop 1003560 of the eighty sixth year. Welcome to Beyond Poop. Your number would be given by the census system. I'll show you around."

I still saw nothing, but I felt it all.

Author's Note: So I had a crazy moment when I read the prompt of the week. Had no idea if I should do it or not and so it took so long. Anyway, leave your comment.

Source(s): Lead Image by Vlada Karpovich from Pexels

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency