Ama, My Savior

"Dad, you need to buy me a box of crayons to practice my painting on paper; I have been painting on ordinary paper without crayons", Ama told her father.

She is a gifted child when it comes to painting.

One day she dropped her crayon box somewhere, which she began to find. She searched all the corners but could not find it. She took her drawing paper and pencils. She began to draw. She draws from her imagination whenever she is drawing. After drawing, she discovered that

"The file must be found, or else you might be sacked", my boss told me while at work. It's an important file that contains the contract agreement with the De-Monik group of companies. My boss would not spare me if this file had to "borrow an extra leg to escape out of the room". I didn't have any visitors over the weekend, and I don't think my little daughter, Ama, took it. She hardly takes things like this. Her mom, on the other hand, had been finding the file with me for days now. In four days, the file would be submitted to the company.

"What would be of you when it is not found?" My wife asked because she was worried.

"My boss will sack me without paying my gratuity", I responded.

"Meanwhile, Ama was disturbing me with crayons. Maybe I should go to the bookshop to get her one".

"I hope you are happy now, right?" I asked my daughter, Ama.

"Yes, Dad. Don't worry, you will. Be happy soon", she replied. I was laughing at her words, as she was just seven years old. She wouldn't have known the value of what we were looking for.

She left for her room and began drawing as well as painting.

Anete Lucina

I do not know what she painted. She rushed to me and showed me a useless painting that she had painted. I did not understand what she drew, but I had to tell her that it was a nice job. "Keep it up".

"Yes, Dad, I will make you proud soon", she said while smiling in her room.

I never took her words so seriously as I laughed over them.

Two days later, I went to work and tried to search my office to see if the file would be seen, but all my efforts in searching proved abortive. "How would I find this file? Where the hell did I drop it?" I was trying to think of the exact place I dropped it, but all my mind was just in the house. "How come it is not at home? Is there anyone that has come to my house to pick up the file?" I was trying to imagine but was left without a clue.

My boss came to me again and was yelling and shouting at me for being careless. "You better find a solution to the file, or else I will do the needful".

"Needful" was to sack me from my work. This is where I'm being paid a huge amount of money, so losing it would be losing something so precious to me.

I got home and saw my daughter's crayon box lying on the floor with some pieces of crayon at different corners. "Does that mean this girl wasted the crayons and even left the box flying in the parlor just like that? She would never ask me to buy her crayon again", I said alone while gathering the crayon sticks back in the crayon box.

While gathering the crayon sticks in the crayon box, my wife came in and went straight to my daughter's room. She saw so many papers flying on the floor, and Ama was lying down on her bed, sleeping. The walls of her room were filled with crayon paint of different colors. She drew good images that amazed her mom. "Honey! Please come", my wife called to me, but I thought it was just a call. I could not answer her and instead continued with what I was doing. She called again, and this time she was at the peak of her voice, just as if something strange had happened.

I rushed to her and saw my daughter's room, which was as rough as anything else. I tried to gather the papers without knowing the reason my wife called.

"Honey, raise your head and take a look at this", my wife said.

I raised my head and saw the unexpected.

"Do you mean Ama drew this?" I said it without knowing the details.

"Please look deeply; you will understand the details of the painting", my wife said, and I was so shocked to see the details. The file I was looking for was lying on top of the shelf. "So, she drew me dropping the file on the shelf?" I asked and ran to the shelf. Behold my file was on the shelf. "Ama, you have saved me from being sacked from my work".

"Dad, I told you that you would smile soon, right?" Ama said, jumping happily.

"You said it, but I could not believe it", I said.

"Don't worry, I will buy you more boxes of crayons just for you to display your talent. I will also buy you some gifts. Thank you so much, Ama!" I said to Ama

She was so happy after that day, as she would be expecting her gifts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency