Roommate problem / Oda arkadaşı problemi (Eng-Tr)

English

It all started on the first day of university, when the brown city I had just moved to was a labyrinth for me and my parents forced me to stay in a tiny room with a roommate I didn't want.

My father came up with the idea of staying in a dorm so that my adaptation process would be less painful and I wouldn't feel the distance of those closest to me as much. At the beginning, I didn't want to because I knew that people, especially those who had not improved themselves and didn't know how long they would stay with whom, were a great danger.

When we came to my university for registration, my father and I decided to look at potential dormitory possibilities. Since my faculty was in the furthest corner of the university, we decided on the area where my faculty was located, which could be considered a bit suburban, instead of the centre.

Image by Erich Westendarp from Pixabay

When the area is a bit troubled, you have to be a bit careful with the people around you, right? To keep everything under control.

Luckily, there were plenty of empty rooms in a modest and affordable dormitory just opposite the entrance gate of my university, and all the views and inspections of this dormitory were in line with our views.

After talking to the owner of the dormitory for a while, I asked for permission to talk to my father and pulled him out.

"Father, I know that we are considering a double room to make it a little cheaper, but please consider my health and my relationships with people and decide accordingly. I can't do it with someone else in the room, no way. Another person, even if it's a woman, their goods, their mess is not something that I can or even want to pull." I said because at this point there was the idea that my father would leave me here and go back home and I would have to stay in a small room with a complete stranger for a year in a room that might be a mess because I had nowhere else to stay.

"OK, I know, my daughter, but you would go crazy alone (yes, that's exactly what he said), you shouldn't be left alone. At least have someone with you to keep you in line." said my father.

"FATHER! What line are you talking about? How can someone who will be disturbed by my music and the sound of pencils while drawing keep me in line? Please think about me for a little bit..."

And then my father went inside without giving me any answer. And while we were talking outside we saw a mother and daughter coming in. They seemed like sweet people. After a little chat, I was screaming as if I was saying no with my eyes to the looks my father threw at me.

My potential roommate seemed like a sweet person in my father's eyes, but something inside me was telling me that this was not the case, on the contrary, she was a quite problematic person.

I believe that one should first look at the eyes of a person. Especially if you are in such a situation, it is the eyes that can give you the best information. They reflect the experiences as well as what is going through the person's mind at that moment.

Buket, my potential roommate, while talking to my father at that time, her mother was examining me and I was examining Buket. And since she was someone I disliked from the first moment I saw her, I was examining her even more thoroughly.

Then, because my father was diabetic and felt that his sugar level had dropped, we left the dormitory to go back and looked for food. While eating, I gave my father a speech for an hour about why I should not stay in the same room with Buket. Of course, I could not convince my father and the contract was signed for that year.

Image by cottonbro studio from Pexels

Everything was fine for the first 2 months until Buket came to the room...

Since she was studying law, she was a little more at ease about absences and she had told me about her decision not to come until the midterms when I settled in the room. And I was really comfortable. Even when Buket was still not in the room, I never put or used anything on her side of the room. Because I admit that I am very obsessive about using things, even if they are lent to people. It is a troublesome situation as someone who hesitates to use them even after getting permission.

After Buket arrived, things started to get complicated. I thought she was going to leave after her midterms were over, but she didn't. And this time, while I, who was obliged to attend, was taking care of my basic needs such as shower and breakfast in the morning, she started to turn round and round.

About a month later, she asked to talk to me and said that she was bothered by everything I told my father that she might be bothered by. The sound of a pen, the sound of music in my headphones, even the sound of me getting ready in the mornings and the most disturbing thing was the sound of water in the shower. This sound was something that happened after 7 o'clock in the morning. Isn't it normal for two people studying at university?

Image by Ken Boyd from Pixabay

I told Buket that I couldn't do anything about the shower sound, but I would pay attention to the others.

Did that work? Of course not.

This time Buket started to open and close the door of the room she entered and left at about 3 a.m. very harshly and started to use my belongings in an unauthorised way. Which was really the last drop of my anger was the unauthorised use of my belongings.

In the following period, we had a very serious fight and we discussed this situation with the administration. The dormitory administration also decided that I was right about this issue. Buket was expelled from the dormitory without a refund. I stayed alone in the room for the rest of the year.

No matter how unlikely people think, I think they should give their intuition a chance, especially when I have experienced dozens of situations like this that I can tell you. I am someone who does this, but of course, not everything is always in my hands.

As a result, sometimes your intuition towards people are right and you experience the bad or good feelings you feel. Sometimes even both.

ailithy.png


Image from The Terminal Discord

Türkçe

Üniversitenin ilk günü, yeni taşındığım kahve şehrim bana labirent olmuşken ve ailemin beni zorla istemediğim bir oda arkadaşıyla küçücük bir odaya kapatmasıyla başlamıştı her şey.

Adaptasyon sürecim daha az sancılı geçsin, en yakınımın benden uzaklığını daha az hissedeyim diye babamın aklına gelmişti yurtta kalma fikri. Başlangıçta ben istemedim çünkü biliyordum. İnsanlar, özellikle kiminle ne kadar süre kalacağını bilemediğin kendini geliştirememiş olanlar, büyük tehlike demekti.

Üniversiteme kayıt için geldiğimizde babamla birlikte potansiyel yurt olanaklarına da bakmaya karar verdik. Fakültem üniversitenin en ücra köşesinde olduğu için merkez yerine fakültemin bulunduğu biraz varoş sayılabilecek bölgede karar kıldık.

apartment-house-3237461.jpg

Fotoğraf Erich Westendarp tarafından Pixabay'de

Bölge biraz sıkıntılı olunca hâliyle çevrenizdeki insanlara biraz dikkat etmeniz gerekir değil mi? Her şeyi kontrol altında tutabilmek için.

Şanslıyız ki üniversitemin giriş kapısının hemen karşısında bulunan mütevazi ve uygun fiyatlı bir yurtta bolca boş oda varmış ve bu yurdun her türlü görüş ve denetimleri bizim görüşlerimize uyuyordu.

Yurt sahibiyle bir süre görüştükten sonra ben babamla konuşabilmek için izin istedim ve babamı çekiştirdim dışarı.

"Baba biliyorum biraz daha ucuz olması için çift kişilik oda düşünüyoruz fakat lütfen benim sağlığımı ve insanlarla olan ilişkilerimi iyice göz önünde bulundurup buna göre karar verelim. Ben odada başka birisiyle yapamam, olmaz. Başka birinin, kadın olsa bile, eşyaları, pisliği çekebileceğim hatta çekmek isteyeceğim bir şey değil." dedim çünkü bu noktada babamın beni burada bırakıp eve geri döneceği ve benim küçük bir odada tamamen yabancı olan biriyle 1 yıl boyunca, kalacak başka bir yerim olmadığı için zorunlu olarak, dağınık olabilecek bir odada kalmak zorunda olduğum fikri vardı.

"Tamam biliyorum kızım da sen tek başına kafayı yersin (evet tam olarak bunu söyledi), seni yalnız bırakmamak gerekir. En azından yanında biri olsun ki seni çizgide tutsun." dedi babam da.

"BABA! Ne çizgisinden bahsediyorsun? Müziğimden, çizim yaparken ki kalem seslerinden rahatsız olacak biri beni nasıl çizgide tutabilir? Lütfen azıcık da olsa beni düşün..."

Sonra babam bana herhangi bir cevap vermeden içeri girmişti. Ve biz dışarıda konuşurken içeri giren bir anne-kız ile karşılaştık. Tatlı insanlar gibi görünüyorlardı. Biraz sohbetin ardından babamın bana attığı bu kız olur mu? bakışlarına adeta gözlerimle hayır dercesine çığlık atıyordum.

Potansiyel oda arkadaşım tatlı bir insana benziyordu babamın gözünde fakat içimden bir his bu durumun böyle olmadığını hatta tam tersine oldukça sorunlu bir insan olduğunu söylüyordu.

Bir insanda ilk önce gözlere bakılması gerektiğine inanırım. Hele ki böyle bir durumdaysanız size en iyi bilgiyi verebilecek şey gözlerdir. Yaşanmışlıkları yansıttığı kadar kişinin o sırada aklından geçmekte olanları da yansıtırlar.

Buket, potansiyel oda arkadaşım, o sırada babamla konuşurken annesi beni, bende Buket'i inceliyordum. Ve daha ilk gördüğüm andan beri hoşlanmama durumum olan birisi olduğu için daha da detaylı bir şekilde inceliyordum.

Sonra babam şeker hastası olduğu için ve şekerinin düştüğünü hissettiği için geri dönmek üzere yurttan çıkıp yemek arayışına girdik. Yemek yerken de babama 1 saat boyunca neden Buket ile aynı odada kalmamalıyım başlıklı konuşmamı yaptım. Babamı tabii ki de ikna edemedim ve o yıl için kontrat imzalandı.

pexels-cottonbro-studio-3944308.jpg

Fotoğraf cottonbro studio tarafından Pexels'te

İlk 2 ay boyunca her şey güzeldi taa ki Buket odaya gelene kadar...

Hukuk okuduğu için biraz daha rahattı devamsızlık konusunda ve vizelere kadar gelmeme kararını bana söylemişti ben odaya yerleştiğimde. Ve gerçekten rahattım. Buket hâlâ odada yokken bile hiçbir şekilde onun kısmında herhangi bir şeyin üzerine ne eşyamı koydum ne de kullandım. Çünkü kabul ediyorum, insanlara ödünç verilmiş bile olsa, kullanmak konusunda çok takıntılıyım. İzin aldıktan sonra bile kullanırken tereddüt eden biri olarak sıkıntılı bir durum.

Buket geldikten sonra ise işler karışmaya başladı. Kendisinin vizeleri bittikten sonra gideceğini düşünürken gitmedi. Ve bu sefer devam zorunluluğu olan ben sabahları duş, kahvaltı gibi temel ihtiyaçlarımı karşılarken dönüp durmaya başladı.

Yaklaşık bir ay kadar sonra benimle konuşmak istediğini söyledi ve benim babama bunlardan rahatsız olabilir dediğim her şeyden rahatsız olduğunu söyledi. Kalem sesi, kulaklığımdaki müzik sesi, hatta sabahları hazırlık sesim ve en rahatsız olduğu şey ise duş alırken çıkan su sesiymiş dediğine göre. Ki bu ses sabah saat 7'den sonra olan bir şeydi. Üniversite okuyan iki insan için gayet normal değil mi?

shower-653671.jpg

Fotoğraf Ken Boyd tarafından Pixabay'de

Bende Buket'e duş sesine bir şey yapamayacağımı fakat diğerlerine dikkat edeceğimi söyledim.

Bu işe yaradı mı peki? Tabii ki de hayır.

Bu sefer Buket gecenin 3'ünde girip çıktığı odanın kapısını çok sert bir şekilde açıp kapatmaya ve eşyalarımı izinsiz bir şekilde kullanmaya başladı. Ki benim sinirimi taşıran son damla gerçekten eşyalarımın izinsiz kullanılması oldu.

Sonraki süreçte ise çok ciddi bir kavga ettik ve idare ile bu durumu görüştük. Yurt idaresi de bu konuda benim haklı olduğuma karar verdi. Buket ise yurttan para iadesi yapılmadan atıldı. Yılın geri kalanında da odada tek başıma kaldım.

İnsanlar ne kadar ihtimal vermese de hissiyatlarına şans vermeleri gerektiğini düşünüyorum. Özellikle de bunun gibi size aktarabileceğim onlarca durum yaşamışken. Bunu yapan biriyim fakat her zaman her şey benim elimden olmuyor elbette.

Sonuç olarak bazen insanlara karşı olan hisleriniz doğru çıkar ve o hissettiğiniz kötü veya iyi duyguları yaşarsınız. Hatta bazen ikisini de.


All of my content is written in Turkish first and then with the help of translators and dictionaries below translated in English.

https://www.seslisozluk.net
https://www.deepl.com/translator


You can reach me, if you want, from my other social media accounts:
Bana, eğer isterseniz, diğer sosyal medya hesaplarımdan ulaşabilirsiniz:

Instagram | Twitter


P.S. If you know English AND Turkish, I do that too... If you see a translation discrepancy that was on purpose. I did think this is as proper as I could do. Because there are many differences between these languages.

Not: Hem Türkçe hem de İngilizce biliyorsanız, ben de biliyorum... Eğer çeviri farklılığı görürseniz bunun bilinçli olduğunu bilin lütfen. Bunu yapabileceğim en uygun şekilde yaptığımı düşünüyorum. Çünkü bu iki dil arasında çok fazla fark var.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency