The Thing

Image by Sandy Flowers from Pixabay

I awoke with a start, my heart pounding. The house was dark and silent, but something felt wrong. I glanced at the clock - 3AM. I never woke up at this hour. I got out of bed quietly and moved towards the doorway, where I peered down the hall with caution. Nothing seemed amiss, yet unease coiled in my stomach. I had to check on Susie.

Surrounded by her stuffed animals, my six-year-old daughter snoozed soundly in her chamber. I sighed with relief and headed back to bed. But as I passed the guest room, a strange gurgling sound froze me in my tracks. The door was closed, the room pitch black within. The noise stopped, leaving only the thunder of my pulse. Just as I convinced myself it was my imagination, a wet, slithering thump came from within. This time, it was undeniable. Something was in there.

I rushed into my room and grabbed the baseball bat by my bed, nearly fumbling it in my sweaty grip. Creeping back to the guest room door, I steeled myself, then kicked it open, flicking on the light. The room appeared empty, bed neatly made. But I knew better. Gripping the bat, I slid open the closet door. Nothing. Yet the Thing was here, I could feel it watching me.

The air vent. Dread pooled in my stomach as I dragged a chair beneath it. Climbing up, I peered into the dark metal tunnel. Two bulging eyes shone back at me, attached to a pale, writhing mass of tentacles. I leapt down just as it slithered out, a gaping maw lined with rows of teeth snapping at me. I swung the bat, knocking it away. It gave a hair-raising shriek and scampered under the bed.

Weapon poised, I grabbed the mattress and flipped it over. The creature lunged, its snaking appendages wrapping around my arms and legs. I crashed to the floor, the bat skittering away. It was on top of me, smothering me with its pulpy flesh. I thrashed and punched wildly. All of a sudden, Susie was wailing in the doorway, her expression distorted with fear.

With adrenaline fueled strength, I broke free and shoved the Thing off me. It let out a gurgling howl as I scrambled across the floor for the bat. Gripping it with both hands, I turned to face the creature. It eyed me malevolently, coils twitching and writhing.

"Daddy!" Susie screamed.

With a guttural cry, I charged, bringing the bat down with all my might onto the Thing's blobbish form. It convulsed and oozed a sickly yellow fluid. I hit it again and again, until it stopped moving, just a pulpy mass of mush.

Panting, I dropped the bat and pulled Susie into my arms. "It's okay," I soothed. "The bad Thing is gone. Daddy killed it."

Her tiny body trembled against mine. In due time, she lifted her gaze, tears rolling down her cheeks. "Why did it want to hurt us?"

I smoothed her hair, aching at her innocence. "I don't know, sweetheart. But it's never coming back."

She nodded solemnly, then took my hand. Together, we walked away from the ruin in the guest room and left the Thing behind forever.

In the warm light of the kitchen, I made some hot chocolate to soothe our rattled nerves. Susie sat on my lap, the nightmare fading away as we sipped our chocolate. Shortly thereafter, she was sound asleep, nestled safely in my arms. I carried her to bed, tucking her in with extra care. Though we'd never forget this night, from now on, only sweet dreams would visit.

Gently closing Susie's door, I let out a long breath. We were safe. And though I didn't know what the Thing was or why it came, our love was stronger than its malice. Light had triumphed over darkness. And no matter what unknown threats lurked in the shadows, we would face them together, hand in hand. Scary things lose their power when you're not alone. And the bond I share with my little girl would always remain intact, no matter what challenges we may face.

As I crawled gratefully back into bed, the adrenaline seeped from my system, leaving me drained. But I had fought the monster and protected my daughter. Now I could finally rest easy. The house was still once more, no sign anything had stirred. But we would carry the secret of what happened forever, the memory of how we defeated the Thing. United by bravery and devotion, Susie and I emerged closer than ever. Though the night had its terrors, the new dawn brought hope and light. The Thing was gone, never to haunt us again. And our love shone all the brighter for having banished the darkness. We were survivors, fighters. Whatever unknown fears lurked, we would face them together and prevail. For not even the deepest darkness can extinguish the light of family. Resting in that glow, I slipped into sleep.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency