Hey! Siri! Play me “Ghost by Justin Bieber”

Lying down on the couch right now, while I am checking on the community channel then I realised the topic for the nonfictional prompt is Music. Something came to mind immediately. I don't know why I felt that way. But that's what I felt. And I decided to go for the topic.

I stretched my hand towards the center table where I had my EarPods sitting and fully charged. That's perfect for my mood tonight. I got them in my ears and then automatically they got connected to my device.

Okay, good.

I am all alone, no one to disturb me at this time of the night. It's night already. I got my fingers clicking on the volume button on my device and got the volume on the highest volume. I think I am going wild into the music world already.

While trying to get a topic to write on, I decided to make Siri play me amazing music, one which I have cherished since 2021. I really can't say how I feel when I keep listening to it.

Hey! Siri! Play me “Ghost by Justin Bieber”

This got into my earbuds and it was like memories keep replaying in my brain. I felt it deep inside of my heart. That was just so cool.

🎵Youngblood thinks there is always tomorrow…🎵

It played all of the soundtrack and then after the first, I had to repeat it. I feel like going back in time. But there is nothing to do about the time that’s gone. Those moments can never surface ever again. They are gone forever.

This was my friend's favorite music in our final year. I got some delay with my project so my hostel rent expired, out of generosity he decided to take me in within the few days I had left to complete my project.

It's said that you can't know exactly who someone is until you are under the same roof as that person. I thought I knew my friend enough, but that was just on the surface, I never knew anything about him. The last few days with him were like forever. I knew him more than the six years we spent together as friends.

My friend was a music addict and this is something I never knew. One music he always plays immediately when he wakes is Ghost. When he is about to sleep, he plays and keeps it on repeat. I would always complain about his way of life. He won't just listen to me but keep his flow with the lyrics of the music.

Just after some days and this music became an anthem, I also started to sing alongside, I felt my flow with the lyrics. It's kinda touching somehow. But I never knew the value of the music yet. I couldn’t connect with it that much, not until it was time for us to depart.

We had to go for our national youth service program for a year, and then after that, it's just an end call to undergraduate days, after service, we are all going out to the labor market. And only by chance do we have to connect physically again. The friendship of over six years is finally coming to an end.

The morning that I would be leaving his apartment. He didn’t play this music, that sounds odd. But I couldn't relate. Immediately I got onto the bus then I started to miss his presence, the fun time we had together, the times of laughter, the times of hunger, the times of joy, the times we disagreed and agreed on stuff, times when we cooked together, more of it all, the music started playing in my head.

I never knew the title of the music, just the lyrics. I googled some parts of it and it gave the title Ghost. I had to play it while I was journeying down the east for over 17 hours, that was the music I was listening to.

🎵 If you can't be next to me,
Your memory is ecstasy
I miss you more than life, 🎵

I love every lyric of the song. At times tears drop down my face, and while I even recall many older memories of people that have come into my life and left, some are still in touch but getting in touch with them is like it would take forever. And some I can't even get in touch with them again.

I got to understand every part of the lyrics, it connected with my soul and since then it has become one of my favorite music I listen to.


Header Image sourced from Pixabay; Other Images are screenshots from my device

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency