I left a promising career as a designer - Week 207

[EN]

In 2006, at the age of 17, I took my first entrance exam to begin my first undergraduate degree. I was still quite immature, and it was a very complicated time to choose what career I wanted to pursue at that moment. My childhood dream was to become a veterinarian, but I didn't believe that I had the intellectual potential to reach the cutoff scores and secure a place at the Federal University in my city and attend the course. So I chose something I had an affinity for and could pass more easily. I decided to study furniture and interior design. At the end of the year, I took the entrance exam and was accepted in 1st place - spoiler: my score would have easily allowed me to get into veterinary medicine. Hahaha

----- 2007 (1).jpg

I doubt you'll guess who I am in this photo 😅

The following year I started my studies. The course itself was great. I always loved decorating, and my uncle is a carpenter, so I already had some knowledge of certain things and knew how to use some equipment. I learned a lot in college. Don't think that we just drew and worked with animation on the computer. We also got our hands dirty, cutting a lot of wood, making prototypes, and everything else. That was my favorite part, by the way.

Untitled-1 copy.png

These photos were taken at a Design fair I attended in São Paulo

Halfway through college, I got an internship as a designer at a medical software company doing product ergonomics. It was pretty cool, but that was when I started to realize that design might not be what I wanted.

- 2007 (31).jpg

Another year went by and I was sure of that thought. I loved planning and executing things for myself, but I hated doing it for other people. I finished my degree just to get the diploma. Yes, I have a degree in interior design, but I don't practice it.

image.png

Here in Brazil, I know that if I had continued in the field, being the good professional that I am - not to brag, but I give 100% to everything I do and I only accept excellence - I would have made a lot of money and I am sure that today I would be very well off.
On the one hand, I chose to follow my heart and leave the field. I don't think I would have been successful doing something I didn't really like. On the other hand, that will always be a doubt I have.

I ended up enrolling in another college, journalism, which is the field I've been working in for over 12 years. This year, however, I decided to try the entrance exam for veterinary medicine, and if I pass, I will fulfill the dream of young Letycia (and adult Letycia, too).


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated do EN-US using ChatGPT.

darling.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now