Cecil County Fair

The Cecil County Fair opened this weekend. This is really a very traditional "county fair" with animals, baking, a demolition derby, and a tractor pull.

My youngest and I went to spend some time there today. It was a quick visit, all in all, because neither of us care much for the midway, and he is highly sensitive to sounds, so the derby and tractor pull were definitely off the table.

So visiting the animals it was!

This is a really nice fairground and a great place for a county fair. It is primarily a horse training ground with a race track, with just loads of open space.

_DSC9804.jpg

Of course, despite all the ... cough ... "exotic" ... farm animals to be visited, my son found a gentleman with a dog. They hit it off really well. This fellow really enjoyed my son's company, and my son really enjoyed petting the dog.

_DSC9815.jpg

Now how's this for a mug shot? Line up bunny. Someone took the carrot, and we think it was you.

_DSC9814.jpg

I thought I was sneaking a picture on this big lazy pig, but it looks like he was watching me. "Hey, what're you doing, buddy?" Look at that sidelong glance at me.

_DSC9807.jpg

And this fellow was having just too much fun. I do not know what was so interesting in the litter he was in, but he was having the best time pushing his snout into it.

My son loves animals. I did not remind me him that this pigs were likely going to end up as breakfast.

_DSC9809.jpg

The little guy got the opportunity to get up close and personal with a goat, too. He loved the goats and thought they were the funniest animals at the fair. He laughed and laughed and laughed.

_DSC9826.jpg

This chap was checking the boy out. "Hey, what's so funny over there?"

_DSC9838.jpg

And, you know, I've said it about animals I don't know how many times: we need to keep an eye on them, or else they'll all go Cujo on us. This dude was plotting my demise. Look at the concentration and determination on his face. If he grew psychic powers, I think I'd be a burbling fool by now.

_DSC9811.jpg

And, of course, the required antique car. A 1930 Model-A. Man, I'd love to have the opportunity to drive one of these around. Great looking vehicle.

_DSC9841.jpg

So, there we were; in, browse, out. It was hot, sunny, and loud, all of which seems to go to war against my boy's sensory issues, so we drove off for ice cream very shortly afterward. Ice cream is a great cure all.


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Amateur photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

My Favourite Tags

#spaceforce3#altphoto#crappycameraphotos
#digitalpinhole#pinhole#firehydrant

IUR5Qh1mwwwiebe.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now