Strolling and thinking about life and the what ifs in Shinjuku

Waking up on a Sunday feeling like wanting to go out somewhere. It's sunny outside and weather is perfect for a quick stroll. But I'm still glued to my bed (and hungry), I chose to just grab my laptop to get my thoughts out in this blog post.

I introduced @pinkhub to this community and now he's pressuring me to share my #weekend-engagement thoughts. Honestly, when I first read about the post, immediately like lightning, something filled my thoughts but yesterday when I tried to put it into words, my mind just won't work. No words came to me. And I don't know why.

Maybe the first weekend of June has dried up my creativity. Better not. 🙏

What IFs

So yeah I woke up this Sunday wanting to share my thoughts about two companions I would go on a walking adventure with. What if they are here with me? I bet it would a disaster but so much fun!

Edit: I’m sorry if this post isn’t about America or Canada. I just didn’t limit myself to these 2 countries and extended it to Japan. I haven’t been to America or Canada or any western countries in general, and I would want to be with my companions in the country where I am living right now. I know Japan than the 2 western countries so I thought about imagining to be with them in Japan first. Sorry again if I chose a different destination. 🙏🏽

I'm from the Philippines and living in Japan for 4+ years now. And I always wanted my mom and my brother to come here even for a short visit and experience what I have experienced here, even just my everyday life. They both lived in the Philippines but in a different province, so they also see each other once in a blue moon.

Some ads in the walkway in Shinjuku

Covered walkway in Shinjuku

Recently they got their passports, which was a big accomplishment for them, and they wanted to travel outside the Philippines to experience culture and customs of a foreign nation. I figured Japan would be the perfect candidate for their first travel abroad, but my resources are also limited.

In the middle of Shinjuku

That's the cocoon tower in the heart of Shinjuku

I have been to Shinjuku a lot of times but it was my first time to stumble upon a rooftop garden of a mall in the heart of Shinjuku. Shinjuku is always busy, full of people, complicated train station one could get lost. But what a great place to dine at the top while down below, it's chaos.

Staff preparing for the barbecue at the rooftop garden

Yesterday as I was strolling in Shinjuku, I thought to myself that I wanted them to see this place I was standing and seeing. The mixture of trees and buildings in one place was just a great sight to see, and they would also be thrilled I think.

Yesterday at Shinjuku

Less people in this side of Shinjuku

Still in Shinjuku but not the busy area

I've been to different places in Japan already and I have always wanted them to see this not in the photos but in real life. My photos couldn't give justice to the reality in front of me. It's way way beautiful. I want them to smell the breeze, touch the ground, hear the busy streets and feel the warmth (or coldness?) of Japanese people, and not just seeing it in a photo.

Tokyo Metropolitan Government building located in Shinjuku

Kinda in the mood for a detour

Seeing this bell means there's a temple nearby, I think

In the middle of nowhere with no other people

Hopefully I could bring my mother and brother to this place one day. They don't speak the language though which may be hard for them but it's fun, right? It's going to be an adventure (or maybe a headache for me?)! We haven't gone to trips before so this could be a great start. We could go together for a stroll and get lost along the way!

Thanks for reading!
See you around!


All photos are taken using my phone unless stated otherwise.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center