As a cat

Many things have been invented to live in society, that if you must work a day of 8 hours, sometimes more, that if the work is from Monday to Friday. That if, the weekends are to rest and have fun, something paradoxical, because surely many places where many go to recreate are full of employees, but this is beside the point.



I remember that one of my first jobs was precisely on weekends, at that time it was ideal because I was studying almost full time at the university and although I studied a lot and also worked on weekends, I always looked for moments to relax, for example, go to lie on the lawn of the university and just look at the sky or go jogging in the stadium to release tension and some Saturdays, after work, sometimes I went out with some friends to have a few drinks, we went to the movies or to eat an ice cream.

Relaxing moments have always been important in my life, although contrary to what some people close to me may think, I have also been quite hardworking, not in vain I lasted, then, 8 years in an office job, I confess that the main reason why I lasted so long was because it was a part-time job, at first from Monday to Saturday from 08:00 AM to 02:00 PM, I did not want to work Saturdays but that was rewarded with free afternoons to do whatever I wanted, which mostly was just going home to be relaxed.

I had Sundays off and that was fantastic, I could go to the mountains my favorite day to do it, because that day one of the accesses of cars to one of the main roads of Caracas is closed and the atmosphere is very cool, people go out to ride bikes, skateboards, scooters, walk pets... Well, it used to be like that, it's been a long time since I've been there on a Sunday, so I don't know how it will be now.

However, while I worked in that company, during the first few years, they had overtime work days and I was always on the overtime list. On some special occasions I worked Sundays and this was optional, but I was always on the list.

Some colleagues told me that I had no social life, because I worked a lot but this was only seasonal, and I only thought about earning more money and gather to then go to enjoy the beaches of the interior of the country or other beautiful places, I worked long hours for a few days, just thinking that I would use that money to then go to relax.

The last few years, my schedule at this company changed, I only worked Monday through Friday from 08:00 AM to 01:00 PM. I had the weekends completely free and also the evenings, it couldn't be more perfect. Of course, during my stay in that company I was offered to apply for other positions but I did not want to give up my schedule that allowed me so much free time.

I can say that I am addicted to relaxation, I have always been in search of methods to relax, from the intake of herbal teas for this purpose, such as peppermint tea, mint, cayenne and other herbs and flowers, which I highly recommend.



Also, I have been practicing meditation, this method is great to find moments of relaxation, at least from my point of view. Looking for moments of silence, concentrating on the breath while the mind repeats a phrase of power, can be a very pleasant moment for those who like to enjoy the stillness.

I think everyone can have their own concept of what makes them feel relaxed, for some it may be dancing in a crowd with loud music, for others it may be at home simply watching a movie or talking to their loved ones.

I don't consider myself a workaholic, I don't think I've ever been one and I don't want to be one either, unless my work is pleasant enough to not consider it work, there are people who claim to have achieved this, but it's not my case, yet.

I would like an online job to which I could dedicate about 6 hours a day and earn enough to not have to work for money anymore, to have the freedom of time to just be on the beach enjoying a sunset, for example.



I know someone who works from 05:00 AM until midnight in his own bakery, works every day, doesn't spend quality time with his loved ones and can never engage in more than a 5 minute chat with someone because he's always busy. It's his business, I get it. He doesn't have the concern that most Venezuelans have these days, which is: "what will be on my table today?", and he can indulge in some treats, but he doesn't have time to do it, so he doesn't do it.

I can't say that what he does is better or worse than what I do, or that he is doing something really productive while I just want to watch a sunset, it all depends on the glass through which you look at it. Some might say that I'm just lazing around while someone like him just works, others might say that this work has no merit, because after all bread with refined flours is not as nutritious as many have wanted us to believe.

But, I'm already going the other way, instead of continuing to express why I consider myself addicted to relaxation and yes, well it is so, of course you have to work but I think you have to find a balance between both things, but society has put so many stereotypes and paradigms.

Only animals are still themselves, although some are not so lucky. In general I think cats know how to be relaxed most of the time, look at this one, in that environment there was a lot of noise around and loud music and this one was sound asleep and relaxed.



See you next time 😉



This writing is inspired by @galenkp's proposal for this weekend.

All photos belong to me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center