A party for the youngest in the house /Week 180

A necessary introduction

That I could not have children is known to some who follow me in this ecosystem. Maybe that's why everything that transmits love and tenderness is among the things I love the most. Thirty-three years ago I lost a very small dog and the suffering was so great, as if I had lost the daughter I never had. Since then I swore I would never have a pet again and I have been faithful to that oath because I suffered too much.

However, in 2009 my wife's children who are mine also brought home a dog of the Chau Chau breed. I tried not to get too attached, but it was not easy because these pets love you so much that they steal your heart. One day he fell from the second floor of the house and died. That was the trigger for my wife to say she didn't want pets in the house because of the suffering we went through.

London's arrival

Just as Covid-19 was finishing its ravages London appeared in our lives. He was taken by our son Daniel and his wife. Since they had their own home my wife could not object. I think if she lived in our home she would have broken her oath and allowed London's company.

London is a sweetheart, he is a Labrador breed dog and is very affectionate, playful, intelligent, loving, fast and loyal. From a very young age he quickly learned the things our son taught him. But, the most important thing for us was what he came to do in our lives in such a hard time for all of us, when we had two years with practically no social life and locked in the house to avoid contagion.

London's birthday

London turned one year old and we decided to throw her a birthday party with her cake, refreshments, candy and other things she likes. Many people told us that we were crazy to spend that kind of money on an animal. What a sad soul. It is true that he is an animal, but not in the sense that they tried to make us believe.

Thank you London

Even though she is not our pet we feel her as such. To this day I am grateful for the time he came into our lives and look forward to visits to our home to be with him because beyond what we have given him, he has given us so much more:

  • He has meant infinite joy in such hard and dark times for all of us.
  • He keeps the heavy days of weekly work from weighing us down and with his affection, constant games and mischief he saves us from the heavy days we have.
  • He has forced us to study everything that has to do with the canine culture, which has allowed us to know about his tastes, his illnesses, how he should be cared for, fed and many other things about this animal breed.
  • When our son brings him home, the family gets together and becomes more united. This is another thing he has achieved.

A final comment

London goes out on the weekends to most of the places our son has. Because of this he has been able to go to the beach, walks in the park, rides in the car with his owner, participates in club activities where he belongs.
But the most important thing is how much he has given us in terms of feelings and the permanent need we all have to have him at home.

Note: Most of the photos were taken with my Samsung J2 phone and, there are also two photos of my wife taken with her Samsung Galaxy.

The translator used was DeepL Translate.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center