My Childhood Song 童话 (Fairytale) - Writing Prompt Week 135

Writing Prompt Week 135 My Childhood Song.png


Short Introduction

Hi Everybody,

I'm @shawnnft and this is actually my first time posting in the Weekend Experience community. Looking forward to getting to know you all. In this post, I will share my interpretation of Fairytale which is my childhood song and why I feel deeply about this song for writing prompt week 135.


image.png

My Interpretation Of The Song

I know this is a bit extra but the interpretation also connects with why I feel deeply about this song. This song is about a guy and a girl. The girl doesn't believe in the happily ever after anymore which is referenced when she says she doesn't believe in fairytales. She doesn't believe the guy can be her prince even though she loves him. This is possibly due to many past bad relationship experiences. The guy wants to prove her wrong by being that prince in her fairytale and have that happy ending with her.

image.png

Why I Feel Deeply About This Song

Nowadays, relationships come and go quickly. I feel that it is quite common now for people to breakup or divorce whether the issues be related to financial, communication, lost of interest/feeling or something bad like being unfaithful. In addition to that, I also feel that most people around the twenties nowadays aren't looking for long-term relationships and some don't even plan on marrying anybody.

I feel that the girl in this song is how some guys/girls feel after they breakup or divorce with their partner. They lose faith in meeting "the one"; the partner that will love and grow with them until the end of time. My parents divorced so I ended up growing up without a dad; I feel that this really made a big impact in life. Adding to that I was bullied a lot throughout my childhood because I was the nerdy Asian kid. This definitely affected my social skills and also gave me trust issues. Growing up, I knew that I wanted a long lasting relationship with intention of marrying and that I would do my best to be "the prince" for my partner and have that happy ending. For me, I'm twenty seven this year but I never got into a relationship yet because I haven't found anybody that I could see a future with. Hopefully, one day I can meet the one that I can be the prince for.

If you made it here, thank you so much for reading. I hope you found a new song to add to your playlist and that you have found or will find your special person. All the best until next time.

image.png

Credits

Photo Thumbnail created using Canva.

Blog Dividers I got from thepeaktudio

Youtube Video and song not mine. All credits go to their owner. Using as fair use and simply sharing the song with my thoughts. Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center