Blind Date with my Text Mate

885305_519333054784509_24687111_o.jpg

The story that I'm about to tell took place during 2012 when I was 19 but I do not have yet a phone with a camera so I don't have any online pictures of when the story took place so instead, I have above is a picture of mine that was taken the next year when I was finally able to save enough money to buy one but this will give you the closest idea of how do I look during that time and the absence of the a smartphone is what enabled this awkward blind date to happen.

It was on my 2nd year of my college life and was heavily attached to music, Post Hardcore, Punk and Emo in particular which is why I have that long hair and my picture was in black and white to give the Emo vibe. I also wear skinny jeans for pants and most of the clothes that I have are either punk or emo based. At times, even put an eye liner and black nail polish but besides that, I have a very normal college life, attending school and interacting with my classmate. Since, I do not yet have a smartphone that time, what I use to communicate were a keypad one to send SMS to people and would go to these so called as "Text Clans" where you will be able to hold a list of contacts that you can send SMS so long as you are a member of the clan and among those contacts, I get to enjoy texting on this girl which I've been exchanging messages and calls for around 3-4 month until I was able to convinced her to finally have to meet me on a mall that was most convenient for both of us location wise for the purpose of knowing the person personally and when it was done between the opposite sex, it was done with the purpose of having a romantic relationship, in short, a blind date.

So the day comes for us to meet and during that time, I have my Emo hair and wear my favorite Emo outfit with my Dashboard Confessional shirt so that when she ask for which I would tell if I was not able to find her first since there is a chance that she would just leave if I was not her type when she saw me first or would have doubts for her safety. I may also do the same if I do not like what she looks but that was just typical for this first time meet ups. When both of us has confirmed the meeting place, I ask for what she wears and where she was located to find her and she said that she was wearing a dress with white and yellow color but was not able to find her so what I did next was to go to the comfort room to check on myself on the mirror before I tried to make a call and when I did, I hear the same voice outside and that was how I find her. She was wearing a cap and a shades probably to conceal herself and although it has white and yellow color, it was not a dress but was an overgrown shirt which has reached almost to her knee and hides the short that she wears underneath. If I was to described it, it was the typical Hip-hop outfit for women that she is wearing which makes it kind of awkward since I was on an Emo attire and although both of our attires were commonly wear during that time, you don't often see people with different music and fashion sense to be together so I feel some peoples eye towards us as we walk together but still, we continue with our plans now that we finally meet each other.

First thing we do was to eat on a fast food restaurant were we took our time to talk and know each other more and we stayed there for around 2 1/2 hours. After that, we go next to the arcade center where we played different bunch of games then we visit different stores in the mall to look for stuff to buy for but both of us ended up with nothing to buy. Since we have played games and visit a lot of stores, I guess we already burned the food that we eat so we decided to once again eat but on a different fast food restaurant this time were we talk again until we finally decided to go home.

Overall, I think that we have spent a great time with each others company because we were already been texting and calling each other before and we also followed it up with another date where I wear a more casual attire but despite that, it does not end up on a relationship not because were different but with the distance between us makes it hard for us to meet more often specially for me that would need to shoulder the majority of our expenses as a college student (And you wonder why I don't have a smartphone yet 😂😂) and also because before this, I was on a relationship with Zai which I wrote on my first on post in the WEEKEND EXPERIENCE community where I didn't really get a proper break- up so deep inside, I might have some concerns that this relationship will not work.

And that was it for my Blind Date Experience. Thank you and see you on my next post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center