[WE-171] My Unproductive Habit: Just Limiting Myself Rather Than Completely Eliminating It

This habit actually started just this year, in April. It's out of nowhere, an unplanned thing that becomes a habit eventually. I can say that it is the most unproductive habit of mine right now. I mean, I only have a few habits, like this, so ฅ•ﻌ•ฅ.

Image Edited in Canva

I was browsing on Facebook that day, then I stumbled upon this new romance anime series. It was still on episode 1, and the cliffhanger after watching episode one is just too much. So I decided to look for it on Google, the manga version. Luckily, I found it, and it already had 94 chapters at that time. I got so excited that I almost finished it in one day. By the way, the title of that manga is Loving Yamada at LV999, it's a good one, I tell you. And that's when it all started.

The website where I read it has a long list of different manga, manhwa, and manhua, and I can't help but look at them and check if I will like some of them too. And that's also where I discovered this "Yaoi" that I love now. I never thought I would love it this much. At first, I was really laughing at how ridiculous everything is on Yaoi. But it's fiction, so I got over it over time. And I read more of it. And now, I don't let the days pass that I don't read it. So, I make it as habit to read it everyday.

IMG_20230916_124037.jpg

Everything is good, it just started like that. To be honest, I'm sick of my daily routine already and how dull it is, so I want to add some spice to my life so I can enjoy it more. In other words, I want my life to be more exciting. Reading manhwa, it gives me a lot of new feelings that I never felt before. I feel like I am more alive thanks to this new habit. But this new habit comes with a lot of negative effects on me too, as I neglect some of my responsibilities and the things I am supposed to do. I strain myself too much thanks to it, which is really bad for my health.

In the first two months since I started it, I was like a hungry man who would drop everything just to read more of it. It comes to the point that I neglected some more important things that I have to do, like Hiving. If you noticed before, I am so inactive that I can't even reach my goals for making 500+ comments or more than 15 articles. This is the reason for it, because of this, should I call it craziness? Lol. I even skipped my laundry time as if I only had a little time left because of how much I wanted to spend more time reading, crazy right.

IMG_20230916_151716.jpg

It's good for my mental health, that's for sure. It also became a reason for me to look forward to tomorrow, as I knew that I would be able to continue reading it. And would you believe that, because of this, I feel like I have more reason to live now? Lol. I was so open about death before, but now I always pray to live and see more of tomorrow so I can read more of this. I know it's too little of a reason to make me feel that way, but, I don't know, that simple thing makes me feel more alive now, happy, and content. But, the negative effect is just too much, even for my eyes and body as I sleep late too reading it.

But, even so, with all the negative effects it has on me, that's not enough reason for me to stop it. Why stop if I can just limit it rather than stop completely no? I thought of cutting it too, but my heart and mind is saying NO. My day will be boring once again if I do completely stop it, which is not good, for me. So what I did was cut down on the time I spent reading, and now the priority would be the most important thing and just spend less on doing reading it.

IMG_20230916_152118.jpg

With the new rules I set myself, I can also save more of my data now. Aside from that, I am more active now on Hive, from commenting and replying to some comments to reading more articles and of course doing other things too, like house chores and and many more. It all comes down to discipline and how you handle it. It's hard to be honest, because the urge on spending more time into it was so strong but eventually, I successfully did it.

Here's how I do it, while reading articles on Hive, I also use that time to read more of them, manhwa I mean. I will read one article, write a comment, open a new one, and while it's loading, i'll switch back to the site. I will spend 4 to 10 minutes reading, and after that, I will go back to reading articles, and so on. That's just how I handle it. It's easier, and at the same time, I am still having fun and being productive on other things.

There is still time that, because of it, I still forget the things I have to do because I am too focused on reading. But once I notice it, I will drop it immediately and spend more time on reading, and after that, I'll rest my eyes for a bit, after a minute that's where I will continue it. I'm like, I'm so addicted to it, lol. But everything's fine now, it's under control. Maybe I'm 80% in control? Haha, that is much better than if I am not in control at all, yeah? Lol (◍•ᴗ•◍).

IMG_20230916_152718.jpg

And this habit is not that extreme compared to others, in fact, it really has a more positive effect too. If I ever one day decide to completely drop it, for sure, this life of mine will not be as colorful as it currently is. I'm not exaggerating, that's the truth.

20220714_175943_0000-removebg-preview.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now