[WE] Last Words

“I live my life based on 2 principles. One, I live as if today was my last day on earth. Two, I live today as if I am going to live forever.”Osho


I don't live every day as if it's my last, that's not a wise way to live life.

Now, I can rant on about my choice of words here, and explain how those who rely on such a philosophy to "live every day as if it's their last" is just using it as an excuse to waste their time and money on frivolous things. But, maybe that's just me and my poor surroundings.

Who knows? Maybe there are such people who truly are living every day as if it's their last.

Yet, every now and then I too will try and squeeze out every itty-bitty second I can from this life, and for being a calm and collected human being for so long, sometimes I will reward myself. A little YOLO moment. Because you just don't, can't, live life with the YOLO mindset, but you do have such moments, that's for sure.

What do I end up doing during my own YOLO moment? There's no one single answer to that.

However, if I'm already gone, then will I even get the chance to regret it? Are there any room for regrets in the afterlife? Is there an afterlife? Heaven and hell? I bet for most of us, when we do get there, the answer will be quite underwhelming.


PXL_20230117_102607304.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


One thing I do know, if I really choose to go ahead and celebrate as if it was my last day in the realm of the living, then it surely will be a grand one. Something that will make me smile for days to come, weeks even. One day I'll celebrate by giving myself a "fancy" little token of appreciation. Sometimes I'll grab a seat at the corner of a nice café or restaurant and eat whatever the hell I want. One day I'll drink 3 different types of coffee and then realize how stupid of a decision it was(just like yesterday lol). And most of the time I'll choose to treat myself well by sleeping for 10 to 12 hours a day.

But to follow this little ritual every single day? Only a madman would live life like that.

Or maybe my ways of celebrating are a bit too extreme? And that is why I can't live every day as if it's my last. Whereas others, people of simpler nature, they just might be able live every single day as if it's their last.

There are Billions of people out there, and I believe someone has cracked the code, surely?

I believe I already have all the things money can't buy, I've cracked that one years ago. And many of the things money can buy is also slowly being taken care of, one by one.

So, to be very honest, as long as I know that my family is doing well and are taking good care of each other, only then I'll gladly step into realm of the dead. Having absolutely no regrets! Even though I still have a lot to prove, a lot to give, the end goal was always my family's safety and contentment.

All my life I had to put my family first, I've tried at least; I am the oldest sibling after all. Around this region for our parents, relatives, and society even, the oldest son of the family has to carry the weight of many hopes and dreams.

That is why I was given a good education and I've had access to every foundational instrument. I was well taken care of by these people. In the end, they expect us to do the same during their old age. And they don't ask for much, a little bit of time, care and effort is all they want. So, the least we can do is give something back, and that's what I've been focusing on for the past 3 to 4 years.

A decade more, and I'll probably give back more than I've taken; fully securing my family's future.

Yet, will I live to see that day? Live to tell the tale? That is all quite uncertain. But, as long as my loved ones know that I've tried, and that I died trying, that's all I'll need to undisputedly step into the afterlife.


“To die trying would be better than to die without purpose.”Lauren DeStefano



1.png


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now