Weekend Engagement - We Are All Special In Our Own Way

image.png

What makes you special to others, endears you to them?

This prompt feels like a self bragging post but I will still attempt to do a meaningful reflection about myself, and make it sound interesting at the same time! So do read on with this context!

I am an extreme introvert.

Unlike most people who are somewhere in the middle of the spectrum between introversion and extroversion, based on the tests, I am on the most extreme side of introversion. But as you know, introverts have their own set of strengths as well, and being an extreme introvert, these strengths are amplified. With people around me, I am a good listener, I enjoy one to one meetings, which means you can blabber all your successes and sorrows to me and I will be there. At the workplace, I am more observant than average, and have a good attention to detail, and that's why I am often described as "meticulous". Of course, I am poor at networking or social events, but everyone brings their own set of strengths (and weaknesses) to the table. After all, how many people in this world are as introverted as me? That alone makes me special. Haha.

I am very calculative.

I know what you are thinking. Actually if you check up the dictionary, it can just mean the use of calculations. Mathematics has been very favourite subject during my schooling years and I did a major in Statistics in the university. Numbers are fascinating to me and I like to count. When I was young, I remembered being the calculator for my parents when they were comparing items in the supermarket. Even till now, whenever my friends and I are overseas, I am their calculator when they are trying to convert items in the local currency back to their home currency. Sometimes they wonder how do I compute so fast - but that's just me and I can't really explain it as well. Anyway, it's not a special skill to be honest since it doesn't take more than 10 seconds to punch the numbers in the calculators on our phones these days.

I am too genuine.

In other words, I am not fake. Haha. Genuine people are rare these days, because everyone these days are pressured by the society to fit in and make people like them. This could come in the form of bootlicking of bosses at the workplace, or say niceties to people when they don't mean it sincerely. I mean, I get it, sometimes people just don't take this sort of "fake" behaviour seriously and just brush it off as a "necessity". Maybe that's why I don't have many friends - but my close friends can vouch for me for being a consistent and reliable friend through thick and thin. Maybe that's why I am not doing too well at work - but I still take pride in my work and refuse to join in the office politics. And that's totally fine. In fact, I appreciate people who are able to accept my unfiltered views.

Ending off with this photo that I took recently. It's been interesting that I have lived in this city for more than 30 years, and it's the first time I have been here. Unfortunately, it was drizzling (you can see that the floor is wet), otherwise, it's quite a nice place to chill here and admire the amazing skyline. That's one of the many things that I like to do alone. Hehe!

20241001_140035.jpg

So that's my little sharing. After all, people who care about you will accept you for who you are, and people who don't care about you, you don't have to change yourself to get them to like you. Because we are all special in our own way! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center