I would choose the 50's [Week-159]

IMG_20230625_232826.jpg

I would choose the 50's.

When I think of the past many things come to my mind, but when I think of living in some bygone era the first thing I look at is what the fashion would be like at that time, for example: how did people dress, what style did they follow; was it formal and elegant; was it a suit and tie for gentlemen, and a dress and gloves for ladies? 😻

I also think about whether it was nice or tasteful and what colors were worn; were they loud and vibrant; were they usually contrasts; what accessories did they wear and how did they match all the clothes? To me this is fascinating 🌟 Beauty was valued differently, although sadly some women were seen as objects.

Before I used to dream thinking and creating color combinations and styles, now since I am a girl dedicated to the art of sewing I give even more importance to this. That's why I would choose to live in the 50's. A time where fashion was gaining strength, where women could already be icons of beauty, glamour and trends. If not Marilyn can say so 😉 🤍

IMG_20230625_233237.jpg

I would like to be there and be able to show off beautiful dresses with gloves, glasses and matching heels, all accompanied by an elegant high hairstyle or a hat, and of course I could not miss a nice red lipstick makeup. what a style no?

In addition, I would have access to the best fabrics to create my clothes and a sewing machine still desired at this time.

True, I wouldn't have internet, I wouldn't even know what it is, nor a Smartphone or a computer as we know today. What I would enjoy is my black and white TV.

IMG_20230625_233155.jpg

But beyond seeing that I would look and feel spectacular dressed like that and that I would also have an elegant and polished car like those years, I think about something more important...

I think about people's customs and ways of being. A time when it was important for everyone to read and grow intellectually (even if they had no profession). Where being educated, having values, such as respect for one's elders, was the order of the day, it was important for society. And where many of the children, thought, behaved and dressed like children.

I know that very strong social, political and economic things would also have happened (as it really was), and behind all that apparent elegance the real human intentions would be covered. However, I think it would be a beautiful era for me. An era with golden class.

Still, today you see winks of wanting to remember that era, those styles: the dresses, bathing suits, the glasses, belts, etc. .... I like to see them.

If I could, I would live in the 50s 💜

Divisor morado.jpg

This post and the drawing were created to respond to the weekly proposal of our friend Galen: "Fifties, sixties or seventies
If you could live in the 1950's, 1960's or 1970's (at your current age) which would it be and why?"

Text of my authorship. The photos are my own, taken with my phone Realme 7. Edited with my phone's editor. Text translated using DeepL.com

Splitter created by me in GIMP 💟

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now