[WE104] Weekend-Engagement Concept - Two Songs - 2nd Anniversary.

This is my response to "[WE104] Weekend-Engagement Concept - Two Years" You can also join the challenge here.


Special shout out to @galenkp for his resilience and not giving up. Thank you for always finding the motivation to keep doing this. 2 years and still getting stronger. Happy 2nd to the Weekend Community. I'm excited about what's to come next.


Topic:

Name two songs or pieces of music that have meant a great deal to you, defined moments in your life, made you feel great happiness or great sorrow when you hear them take you back to a special moment. Explain why in each case. You can link the YouTube videos if you like.


IMG-20220413-WA0016.jpg


I am someone that feels deeply and that's why words matter a lot to me. I am a huge fan of words with deep meaning and lyrics. When we learn about the story behind every song then we can appreciate that song a little bit more.
I have so many songs I would love to share but for the sake of the second anniversary of The Weekend, I would limit it to two important ones. May was a month of emotions for me due to my late dad and mum and also this June... would be my mum's 13th remembrance. So pardon me for choosing songs instead.

There is no day I listen to this song that I don't have goosebumps all over my body. There is no time I listen to it that I don't struggle to hold back the tears. It's everything about the song for me; how it was delivered, the story behind it and the emotions involved. I can remember listening to this song a lot after dad passed away and I was watching my mum feeling helpless, sad and empty. Anytime I listen to the song I remember how she felt at that moment especially as it was described in the song as well.

Title of Song: "Dance With My Father"
Artist: Luther Vandross.
Video Link:

I still listened to this song during dad's 16th-year remembrance on the 26th of May. I can never outgrow that song. It's about pure emotions and it's my connection to my late dad because I always replay it in my head how he went, how my mother felt, how I screamed and how the news was broken to me when I was close to my final year in 2006. I was about to write my exams in 3 weeks when he passed away. It affected my concentration a bit and that's why this song holds so much meaning to me. There is no phone I get, this song has to be one of the many things I get first on that new phone.

The second song that always draws me back to memory lane would be this song that was sung for Aaliyah when she had that plane crash.

Title of Song: "I'll Be Missing You"
Artist: Puff Daddy feat. Faith Evans and 112.
Video Link:

I have two instances in this case and the first would be in honour of my late sister; Adebisi. She died 16th of May, 1998. The song was released in 1997 after Aaliyah's plane crash and the moment we lost my sister, this song suddenly became my connection with her. "Every step I take and every move I make, every single day and every time I pray, I will be missing you" that is part of the lyrics and that part always hit me differently. It made me remember so many things I should have done with her that I was deprived of. There is no time I get closer to anyone that I don't feel differently how I wish I had a sister to learn more from and discuss how it means being close to a female.

I lacked that connection with her growing up because she was taken early but I tried to make up for it 🙈. Most of my friends are females and I can say 80% of my friends are female. This is why I tend to know so much and learn so much about them.

I love that song because my sister and I were very close while growing up. We shared the same room and she's the most peaceful human you can ever come across. Yes, I missed her, I miss her and always will. She is irreplaceable no matter how much I tried.

Since we lost mum in 2009 as well, this song is my connection to both my sister and my mother. I was more of a daddy's boy because I felt I have time to connect with my mum later on but I only had 3 years of connection with her when dad passed away and I wish I had more. This is a huge regret I still carry and I would always miss her too. If I was given a chance to bring one person back from the dead, shockingly, it won't be my dad but my mum because I want to make up for those lost times. It's a burden I still carry heavily in my heart and singing this song, I picture her face and that of my late sister as well.

These two songs are important to me and I wouldn't trade them for anything else in the world.

Happy second anniversary to us, yaaaaaaay. It's such an honour to be a part of this community. Thank you all.


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center