My 11 out of 10

Has got to be parkrun! A free weekly timed event, it just does not get any better!

It has got to have saved me a small fortune over the ten years I have been doing it. Just about every other sport I have ever been involved with has had membership, entry fees and fund raising. I definitely don't miss any of the countless hours we used to do volunteering to sell raffle tickets for meat trays, cooking sausage sizzles, cleaning and working bees at club houses. It just never seemed to end. If I ever ended up being double booked I had to sort somebody else out to cover me.

Don't get me wrong, I have had a lot of good experiences with clubs and other sports over the years but definitely not an 11 out of 10.

I have made a lot of good friends at parkrun over the years too and even met my now better half.

Another good thing about parkrun is the level of commitment. Just show but then you want and get as in volved as you want. Volunteering for this free event is totally optional.

Lots of parkruns have there own unofficial social media groups as well. They do outing, meet ups and other free fitness activities during the week.

No need for a club uniform or high level of fitness either. I have seen people showing up straight after a night shift at work and walking the event in steel caps boots and overalls.

Hive is pretty good too but it would probably be a 12 out of 10 Lol.

Have you got a parkrun near you?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now