Traditional Wedding Guest (Son-in-law)

img_0.6323699357288618.jpg

Hello Hiverieans and weekenders. It has been a long weekend for me beginning from yesterday, Friday that was a work-free day till Monday. So work begins on Tuesday. School have been closed for mid-term break and won't be opening till Tuesday. Every other working day has been very stressful, having wake up by 4:30am preparing for school with the kids.

On Friday, my sister-in-law got engaged traditionally, so work was not in the fore. I was fully in ground during the payment of the traditional rites. I had done so likewise when I was going to marry my wife.

img_0.5008135194239643.jpg

So, it all began with the visitation of the grooms family few months ago. Friday is selected as date for the final rituals and dowry payment. As expected, everywhere was bubbling with a lot of guest. As the first son-in-law, I was accord a good sitting position to welcome the groom, even though I would be playing an observer role.

img_0.9166951612854022.jpg

At the point of agreement, the bride was invited to pick whom the actual groom is. This is to be done with a cup of local drink (usually palm wine). The cup will be served the groom who will gulp it and then enclose the cup with some money for his would-be wife. She did this with enthusiasm as some present young men asked that they be picked (that's one of the fun part though) even when they know they weren't the one that that was getting married. The bride then presents her sweetheart to her family who then blesses their new home by prayers said by the eldest man in the bride's family.

img_0.23033098245372016.jpg

The fun seemed unending as we moved into the night. Traditional dances followed while the older family members settle the issue of dowry. In recent times, the dowry paid is returned to the groom's family to take care of their daughter, who is becoming a wife and that their daughter is not sold to them.

img_0.10933190502219783.jpg

At this point, food serving commences with local music and drinks.
My mother-in-law is a good woman, she supported me while I sought the hands of wife in marriage and now she did the same of the new couple too. It's night already, I have drive home with my kids without my wife as she has to stay back to put everything back in place.

That's been my first part of the weekend. Tomorrow is for Owambe (Wedding parties) of one of my colleagues at work.

All images used here are shots snapped by me during the event

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center