The end of the year, a moment to stay with dear people

In the last few years, I spent the last day of the year with Mary, in different places. Some years together with her family here in Calabria where I still am while writing this article and the last year we were in Wroclaw, in Poland, having an amazing dinner together and fireworks in the main squares.

This year, I discovered a yogic program too late, so we are going to Alberobello, in Puglia (Apulia), together with a couple of friends and another couple, friends of our friends.

At the beginning I was sceptical as I do not like touristic places and crowd BUT they bought me, when I was told that for the big-dinner of the 31st December we were going to join a local party made of fishermen and other oldies from this small village in Alberobello. That attracted my attention as this would be a unicum in my life, as to join this party we will need a specific invitation from a local person, friend of our friends.

So, I agreed to go there and join that curious party together with the local people, eating local food that in Puglia is usually delicious (like everywhere from the Center of Italy downwards).

I am also glad to spend a few days with these friends that are also student of the Yoga course I am holding this year, to get to know each other better and practice some Yoga together.

Besides, Alberobello is on the hills of Puglia, and I am really curious to see it, as it’s much famous for the “Trulli”, that are typical buildings that can be found in that area.

Trulli are the smaller version of Nuraghe, that can be found in Sardinia like you can see in this following picture. Nuraghe were built for defence purposes while Trulli are for living/residential purposes.

This picture is not mine, as I am not yet in Alberobello, but I will publish more articles about this experience soon :D

So, dear @galenkp best wishes for this new year to you too! I will be glad to read what are your plans for the 31st night as well :D
I think I will eat some great food, dance some traditional local ballets (pizzica for example) and some more great food.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center