Celebrating my Mother's birthday with traditional dishes

Sunday evening together with @healthymary and my mum.

We went to Canedole, a place between Verona and Mantova (Italy), to eat some specific typical dishes.
These dishes are really typical of such area due to the number of ditches and paddy fields.

I lived my first 13 years in that area, and when some occasions occurred, together with my grandparents on my father side, we always went to these kind of restaurants where these exact dishes could be found.

I was very glad to see that in more than 20 years, the style and the size of those dishes have not changed much, keeping them abundant and of a very high quality and dedication.

These dishes are based on rice and fish from rivers (so not-salted water).

I still remember how much my grandma was passionate about those dishes.

The first courses were made of a tastings of four different “risotto”, with four different fishes that you can see from the image below. Starting from the top one, going counter-clock wise they were: catfish, small fried freshwater fishes, frogs and freshwater shrimps.

The great thing is that even If the portions were quite abundant, we could manage to eat them all and getting some second courses as well, since they were very light and digestible.

The second course we chose was made of some fried fish and some cooked vegetables (grilled and stuffed).

We took two portions of fried fish to be divided in three, as we were not as much hungry anymore. This fried fish was still made of: catfish, small fried freshwater fishes, frogs, freshwater shrimps and eel. This mixed fried fish was really amazing. Much digestible and of an adequate quantity for the price we paid.

Some vegetables as well as we were curious to see how they cooked it to learn new recipes and get inspirations.

Then some desserts could not be missed and we decided to share 2 desserts (as three could be too much). The first one was the “Chocolate Madness” and the second a typical dessert from Mantova called Pipasener, served with eggnog.

What an amazing dinner with my mum (which we do not manage to get out and have a served dinner together as she is a great cooker as well) and Mary.

I overall love traditional cuisine, ethnic as well. And that was the time of my origin’s traditional kitchens.

Astonishing!

All pictures have been taken from me :D

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments