This content was muted by Weekend Experiences moderators for not following community guidelines.

The greatest risk I have ever taking

IMG_20221101_114212_113.jpg

There are notable dates in my life which I took risks either to protect my life or that of others. But, in all, there is one I won't fail to tell or share my experience with you all my friends here in weekend experience. Thank God this week's contest has given me the opportunity to share my experience though, poor network since almost 2 days ago failed me to summit on time. Yet, I must share this heart touching experience, Though late entry. Therefore, am pleading that you read through emotionally to understand the experience.

The preamble

The story am about to tell took place on the 15th day of November 2017(approximately 5 years ago). The night of that very day brought fear, dread, agony and risk. It's a night I can't forget in a hurry. It was critical. Tears everywhere. sounds of weeping allover the street.

Believing that we're inquisitive to know what transpired, let's just exhale so as to calm down our arteries before hearing the heart touching story that led me into taking the greatest risk of my life. Having done as I suggested, let's proceed...

The story

That night, I went to bed early with the intention that I will rise early tomorrow morning to carry out some important tasks. But, reverse was the case. My spirit started tormenting me as if I committed something extraordinary. With that, I sat up, because, whenever am feeling that way, it's either sign of danger or an intelligent alert.

So, while sitting quietly, mum was deep asleep. Around 12:20 am, our neighbors dog started barking seriously to the extent fear nearly ate me up. But, I prayed to My God silently and then made myself strong to face the unknown reality.

Just 5 minutes later, I perceived strange sounds inside the compound. I asked myself, who are they? Arm-robbers or what? Then, suddenly, they started calling each other strange names like :

carboe, presido including other strange nicknames. At that, I realized that they are thief's(arm robbers).

Though afraid, yet, I mustered up courage so as to take the necessary precautions like how to safeguard my phone and other important articles. The truth is that though alive, am dead inwardly because, I didn't even know the exact thing to do. Many thoughts encircled my mind like, what if they rape me? Because am the only young lady in that compound then.

While pondering over those thoughts, and mum was still asleep, I heard a powerful sound. The sound woke mum up. Thank God she's not BP patient. She said to me, what's happening? arm robbers? I said, it's like. Next, I heard sound like when butchering someone and cry and shouting followed up. I said to myself, I must understand what's going on. Therefore, I peep through window and saw them butchering our neighbor with their cutlass and the worst is that the man was pure naked. Heew.

I told my mum what I saw and their fellow guys was saying and I quote:

if you open the door, I shoot. carboe, any ririri, shoot.

At that point, fear ate me up. I said to mum, let's run away through the window. With kitchen knife, I teared off window net, jumped out, while mum was about to jump out too, she recalled that her younger sister gave her 80,000(naira) to keep. I told her to bring it out. Out of fear, mum didn't recalled immediately where she kept the money. Remember, myself is still outside and that is pure risk because, if they should see me, they will shoot me. But the only thing that saved me is the fact that they are still butchering that my neighbor and the man also challenged them.

So, they all faced the man and that paved way for us to runaway. As soon as mum found the money, both of us ran away to an uncompleted building. After a while, Someone came into the building with satellite torchlight. The man, pointed his torch allover the rooms inside the building except the one we are inside.

Who knows who he is? one of those arm rubbers or who? But mum, out of intelligence, dug hole inside the building and buried the money there.

conclusion

The risk we took on that very day is one of it's kind. Imagine what would be our fate if those bad guys should catch us? What if while jumping out of the window, we fell down and broke our arm or leg? Not only that, remember, we are running away with someone's money(NGN 80,000) which is equivalent of 485 hive presently. Don't you think they will collect the money from us? too bad.

But the surprising thing is that they rubbed all our neighbors except us. While running away, we left our phones. And they didn't open our room. The arm rubbers butchered many souls that night, but thank God, none died. But some lost their hands and some are disfigured till date. But the surprising part of it is that, even till date, our neighbors didn't know we ran away.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center