Swear Words & Happiness Quote (WE #161)

Weekend Engagement Prompt Link

Happy weekend everyone ˙ᵕ˙ A couple of the prompts appealed to me this weekend, so I've chosen two to write about:


Swearing
Where do you stand on swearing? Is there a time and place for it or do you think it should never be done? Discuss in 300+ words and use photos you took yourself where you can.


Come to think of it, I don't curse as much these days as I did when I was younger. I make a conscious effort not to swear in front of my kid, or anyone else's kid. The only time I usually swear is by accident, like when I'm caught off guard by something that scares or surprises me. Oftentimes, the word usually slips out of my mouth before its too late. I'd say the number one place I swear is in the car while driving. I may also drop an F-bomb if I do something suddenly painful or clumsy, like stub my toe.

I do think there's something about the phonetics of swear words that makes them alleviate our frustration. Their terse enunciation and harsh sound feels like a release of tension. When it comes to cursing during an argument, I've realized it may make someone feel powerful to swear at someone in the heat of the moment. But, the reality is that it dilutes your argument.


Your interpretation
How do you interpret the quote below and how might it relate to you? Discuss in 300+ words and use photos you took yourself where you can. (Make sure you credit the author of this quote in your post)

"The secret to happiness is freedom... And the secret to freedom is courage." - Thucydides


First, we'll look at definitions of courage and freedom:

Courage
noun

  • the quality of mind or spirit that enables a person to face difficulty, danger, pain, etc., without fear; bravery.

Freedom
noun

  • the state of being free or at liberty rather than in confinement or under physical restraint:
  • exemption from external control, interference, regulation, etc.

When we think of the word courage, we mainly think about facing danger. However, if you look at the definition, it also includes facing difficulty. So, courage isn't always extreme behavior like jumping out of a plane or slaying a dragon. Oftentimes, courage is shown by facing everyday difficulties of life. It could be standing up for yourself, asking someone out on a date, or admitting you're wrong. I think happiness is the courage to accept the harsh realities of life. Once you face the fact that life isn't easy, you can be free from the expectation that it's always supposed to be happy and fair.

My interpretation as it pertains to myself:
When I first saw this Thucydides quote, I thought of my own financial freedom. I've always been a very dependent person when it comes to finances and life skills. However, I think being dependent on others can allow them to control you. One definition of freedom is exemption from external control. My goal as a single parent has been to be financially independent and develop better life skills such as working to buy my own house and car.

Thanks for reading,
Laura

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now