WE112 - It all started with a Pet name.

Do you have a nickname or pet name given to you by someone else? What is it and why were you given it? Or, have you given someone else a nickname that stuck What is it and how did they earn it?

Pink Yellow Illustrated Entrepreneur Blog Banner.jpg

Edited via Canva: Photos captured by me.

This question asked by Sir @galenkp in weekend experiences (WE112) that caught my attention.
Thanks for giving us an idea of what to write this weekend.
===========================================================================

Nicknames are given to anyone aside from their real name, either from a family member, workmates, friends, etc. Sometimes they are known in their nicknames instead of their birthnames.
Most of the time, it derives from initials as names are too long, physical appearance, gestures, or even hobbies.
As I know everyone has a nickname, let me share mine.

I got several. It depends on the place I am. When I was in college, most of my schoolmates called me " YMZ" (IMZ). It was my best friend and the same time, my senior officer in ROTC ( Reserve officer training course), who started calling me that. He got that from my last name, which everyone always mispronounced. Since then, everyone started to call me that, and only a few know my real name.
When I started working, it was my first job; our operation manager called me " LIE." Yes, as in LIE. I was not too fond of it. I mean, it sounds hostile as I felt like a liar. I mean, who knows? Some might think I did deceive anyone by making untrue statements. Isn't it?
Yet he reasoned out that he got it from my first name, " Leslie" He found it so common to call me "Les," so he settled with "Lie" (pronounced as "Lay').
Then maybe they are just trying to annoy me. Some of my workmates call me "Lu," in contrast.
Now imagine two persons calling me by that two nicknames. Yes, it was "Lie - Lu." It is only slightly different, but they wanted to imply "LIE LOW."
I was in the Audit department, and most of the time, they said I was too strict in implementing what was supposed to be. Well, that is just a part of my job. Some of them could not understand and get mad when reported. So I lost friends because I did not lie low. It's okay, though. I applied to the company because of work and did not look for a friend. I already have.

Or, have you given someone else a nickname that stuck? What is it, and how did they earn it?

I had that workmate back then who was fond of calling me " Mickey." That was because he knows I am collecting Mickey mouse items. It was like a pet name. He even saves my cellphone number under that name. That annoyed me initially, so I called him "Tweety" as a counterattack.
Why? He got that full lips resemblance with that cartoon character.

Neutral Aesthetic Photo Frame Mockup Instagram Story (1).jpg

Edited via Canva: Photos captured by me.

Do you agree with me? I hope so! I even gave him a small stuffed toy to annoy him on his birthday.
It was supposed to be a joke until I got used to it, and I no longer called him by his name.
Does it sound corny? Contrary to what I was expecting, he was not mad. Instead, he finds it sweet. Like he thinks we are in a relationship, and that was my pet name for him. He added it was unique.

Well, he was right after all. We eventually became a couple, and the one I used to call "TWEETY" was now my husband.
NOO! I no longer call him that. It sounds like a kid to me. Yet he gave me a big tweety bird. I got in the last time we played in the amusement park.

296406993_1123232251876255_145103324787789984_n.jpg

Thanks for dropping by.

Author: Lhes
Date Published: July 30, 2022
Place: Manila Philippines

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center