WEEK 204. Be clear about what you want to live



Image taken today of a keychain I received when I participated in that national Jamboree in 1989, today I travel in my memories.


imagen.png

Be clear about what you want to live

When I read the latest topic, the first thing that came to mind in that apocalyptic scenario as you describe it, I am completely sure that survival would depend on a combination of skills, that would be the most important thing to know which ones could help me.

If I had to choose the three most relevant ones, for some reason only three would be the following, as the main one the ability of survival, it is very true that in that aspect only the most skilled survive.

Being very clear that you want to live, having the ability to know how to find water is something super important, and it is knowing how to collect it or how to make the water drinkable, it is very important to have that knowledge, other things that you need to know would come, and it is how to get food or the necessary food for survival, that includes knowing how to fish and have hunting skills, knowing how to find shelter to protect myself from the elements and potential dangers, I mentioned water, food, and shelter within a single skill, but that's how I see it, and they are fundamental things for the survival skill.

Not everyone knows it, but knowing how to start a fire can be a crucial skill in an apocalyptic world, which by the way is not very far from reality, since I was very young I know how to light fires when I learned it YouTube did not exist. A fire can provide me with warmth during cold nights, which would help me stay warm, also the fire is necessary to be able to cook those foods that I can fish or hunt.

Another skill that can be very important is to have medical skills, I mean medical skills to support knowledge in first aid. Being able to treat and give the right treatment to common wounds and basic illnesses would be vital, knowing how to give CPR, how to use medicinal herbs, how to take care of a sick person.

I think that with these three skills many problems can be solved, but why did I mention those three skills knowing that there are many others, I did it because I know and know about them, for many years from 13 to 15 years I belonged to a Boy Scouts group, there I learned to hunt, to fish, how to make a fire using only the resources I had at my disposal without matches or lighters, only with shoelaces and two dry sticks, that's just an example, knowing how to collect water, how to make the water drinkable, knowing how to do CPR and knowing how to create a shelter using the best terrain, I really learned many other things, and several I learned while I belonged to the Boy Scouts of Venezuela.

I don't have photos from that time, however, when I read about the topic I remembered the Scouts, from that time I only keep a great memory that they gave me in 1989 when a national Jamboree was celebrated in Venezuela, where I had the great opportunity to meet the founder of the Boy Scouts of Venezuela, Mr. Ramón Ocando Pérez, that Jamboree was held in the city of Maracaibo, a city that is a 24-hour bus ride from my hometown Ciudad Bolívar to Maracaibo.

imagen.png

The images in this publication are my property.


I invite you to participate in the proposals made by @galenkp. Weekend-Engagement topics: WEEK 204 Excellent topics for a weekend.


imagen.png

To be happy, you just have to make your own decision.


Thanks for visiting, I appreciate your opinion.

"In constant evolution" .

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center