I Would Rather..

Now to answer this week's engagement post,I'm gonna tell two life stories of people close to me and their experiences working in a job they hate and love. That will gently take us into why I chose my answer.

First story
Growing up I had an uncle that loves drawing. He draws so well. Most times I wonder how he does it. He doesn't need you to be present before he can make a sketch of you.

I remember asking him how he was able to remember all the features,scars, spots and curves on a person's body. He only smiled and told me that one day he prays I find my talents and do it so easily that people will have to ask me how I find it easy to do such. Then that will be the day I'll get my answer.

But there was one thing about my uncle. He works in a bank and earns well. Although He loved drawing and made little cash from it as a side hobby, he couldn't make it his full time job because as at that time to him drawing wouldn't feed his family.

He literally complains almost all the time to my Dad of his job in the bank. He was miserable with the job but couldn't quit because to him putting food on the table for his family was better than following his heart all to his own detriment. Ever since I vowed never to do something I wouldn't find joy with. Something I don't love.

Second story
Presently I stay with my sister who works in the medical field. Immediately after school and gaining her O.D certificate she got a job at a big hospital in the western part of Nigeria. But she wasn't happy with working there although she earns well.

Why wasn't she happy?.

Although she earns well, as a big hospital she barely gets to see patients because the big bosses in the hospital believe she isn't up to task and they weren't ready to let her or teach her. She only goes to work to sit down and at most sees only three to five patients in a whole day. She hated working there. According to her the sole aim of studying optometry was to help people regain their sight and if she isn't allowed to do these, how is she going to achieve her dreams?

Luckily she applied for a new job in the southern part of Nigeria and was employed but with a lower pay than the former. But she loves it here. Not only has her joy of doing what she loves increased, she has also gained more knowledge and experience professionally. And can boast of helping several people regain/manage their eye health.

Now Judging from these two stories that I've seen first hand about people I Know led me to the answer to my question of this week's engagement.

*So to the question; Would I rather work in a job I totally hate but pays me well or work in a job I love and find inspiring but the pay was low and I had to strictly budget your financial matters."

I've worked two jobs as an employee and I can confidently tell you that comparing those two jobs to my present love and going from experience I'll definitely stick with the job I love and find inspiring.

To me there's nothing more than living your dreams. They life you've so much love to live right from childhood. There's nothing worth working with joy and peace of mind in executing that task you so much love doing. There's this calmness it brings.

img_0.7059775107270174.jpg
My design.

img_0.6581336297271474.jpg
My design.

img_0.9821322507842895.jpg
A happy client

PSs: All pictures are mine

Like I said I'm speaking from a place of experience. Presently I'm into clothing. Yes,apart from schooling at the moment and writing on here I sew clothes and that is what I've always loved to do right from childhood. And I can tell you that as a tailor there's no joy worth more than seeing my clients happily wearing my designs. Although now the cash flow isn't much, the joy alone of clothing people gives me so much satisfaction.

Compared to when I was working as a salesman for an organization. I always wake up to a work day feeling grumpy and unmotivated. But it isn't so presently with sewing.

Hopefully I pray to get enough capital to go big on the fashion business. Then I can enjoy both the cash flow and love of what I do.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency