My perfect relaxation method after a hectic day at work.

img_6661.jpg

Image
[source] https://pixabay.com/photos/frog-at-home-my-home-is-my-castle-986059/
: Pixabay by Alexas_fotos

I shuffle between being a full time assistant Lecturer in a higher institution and being a part time Architect for a couple of building contractors who I work with, yes my job may seem fun but it comes with a lot of stress. A good example is dashing from one lecture hall to another then the little time I spend in my office is used to prepare for the next lecture I’m about to handle.

Often times after a hectic day at the office, I leave my work place only to go home and continue with my architecture work but this doesn’t sit right with my girlfriend who often advice me to “leave work at work”.

Getting home after a stressful day at work combined with the traffic on the way can be so tiring that’s why I mapped out my perfect relaxing method, I’ve noticed that each time I fail to follow the method after a hectic day at the office, it becomes difficult to make it to work early and energetic the next day.

On my way back from work everyday I stop by at a store close to my house to pick up a couple of fruits. Immediately I get home in the evening, I drink a glass of chilled water before I have a warm bath which of course is soothing. I then switch on my home theatre then pair it with my phone (where I have a couple of playlists depending on my mood, ranging from RnB to hip-hop, trap, grime and also Afro-beat). While I listen to the music in a tender volume I eat the fruits while preparing my dinner. When dinner is ready I dish it then take it to my bedroom to eat where I have a very comfortable one sitter chair that faces the Tv, with the Tv on and my favourite series or a new movie that’s trending on Netflix is playing.

I don’t deprive myself of sleep because of a movie, so I move to my bed after I’m done with my dinner then I put a call through to my girlfriend or sometimes we text on WhatsApp while I lay comfortably on my bed then we discuss about our day and laugh about certain things, she has a good sense of humour which of course keep me happy and smiling before going to bed early.

I think this method is perfect for me because the fruits, warm bath, mild music, chilled water, favourite movie and going to bed early aid in giving me a soothing feeling after a hectic day at work so I can get up to prepare for work the next day feeling refreshed and energetic and the cycle continues.

I’ve read a couple of other authors method of unwinding which of course I find interesting too, feel free to comment and let me know your own perfect unwind method so I can learn from you too. Thanks for reading.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center