Appreciating Family, Respect, and Food

There are many things we often overlook or do not appreciate as much as we should. I think the three things that I, and perhaps some of us, take for granted are family, respect, and food. These are fundamental aspects of our lives that deserve more recognition and gratitude.

First about family. Growing up in a Nigerian home, I was surrounded by family not just my parents and siblings, but also aunties, uncles, and cousins who were always around. It was noisy, sometimes we fight we also reconcile. We always look out for each other no matter what. But sometimes I just want to be myself wanting more privacy, more quietness and not being monitored whenever I go out.

I remember complaining about my mother's constant questions about my whereabouts, or my father being strict with our upbringing. Sometimes I don't like telling any of my family members about my whereabouts so as to prevent being monitored. I didn't realize then how lucky I was to have people who cared about me, who wanted to be part of my life.
It wasn't until I left home for university that I truly began to appreciate my family. The silence in my room was something else, though I got to meet with other people but the love from my family was not compared to what I met in the university. There was no one to share my meals with 😂 , no one to discuss my day with. I missed my mother's voice, even her constant complaints .
Now, I try to cherish every moment with my family. I understand that having people who love you unconditionally, who support you through thick and thin, is a blessing that not everyone has.

The second thing I take for granted is respect. In Nigerian cultures, respect is something that is taken seriously, especially respect for elders. We're taught from a young age to greet older people properly.

I remember feeling annoyed when I had to prostrate to greet elderly relatives at a family gatherings. I would rush through the greetings, eager to join my cousins in play. I didn't understand then that these gestures of respect were not just traditions, but a way of acknowledging the wisdom and experience of our elders.

As I became older, I've come to realize and appreciate the value of respect, not just in receiving it, but in giving it. I've realized that showing respect to others, regardless of their age or status shows that one is respectful,properly trained and responsible.

The third thing I take for granted is food. In my country, we're is blessed with various kinds of dishes, each tribes with there various delicacies and I grew up eating delicious home cooked meals every day. Jollof rice, pounded yam with egusi soup, moi moi, these were regular food we do eat. But how often did I pause to appreciate my parents for providing the food, the effort that went into preparing these meals, or even the fact that I had enough to eat?

I remember those times when I would complain about eating the same meal two days back to back , or when I would remain food on my plate and throw away because I was tired of eating same meal over and over again. I didn't think about the fact that my mother had spent hours in the kitchen preparing that meal, or that there were people who would give anything to have what I was complaining about.

It wasn't until I started cooking for myself that I knew difficult it is to prepare a meal. And it wasn't until I starved that I truly understood how fortunate I was. And not to complain about the food I am eating or how I've been eating the same meal back to back.

Now I always try to appreciate each meal I eat, and also appreciate the effort that is used to prepare the food even if I am tired of eating the food 😂 and give thanks whenever I have little or plenty to eat.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center