Changing the World in a Weekend

portada.jpg


nuevoseparador.png


Last weekend has marked a before and after, not only in my career as a singer, but in my life as a singer. I was literally part of an event that marked and will continue to mark history in the world, especially in music, and this happened in the two performances of Beethoven's Fidelio Opera that took place in the city of Caracas last Saturday and Sunday.


IMG_20230617_170538_210.jpg

Our Saturday outfit

Why do I tell you that we are making history and changing the world? Well, Maestro Gustavo Dudamel has been performing the Opera Fidelio for several years now, one of the few that has Singspiel, where the singers have dialogue scenes in the middle of the music. The special thing is that for the first time in history deaf mute people are being included in the world of opera, and the idea is that they represent scenically while the singers and the orchestra do their work. Tears welled up in my eyes from the first moment I heard the tenor sing, dressed in black and behind the deaf actor, who was the real protagonist, the one who had the wardrobe and captured the attention of the audience.


IMG_20230618_144245_309.jpg

Our Sunday outfit

All I know is music, especially singing. That's what I live from. My parents and my whole family are singers, and my girl @jhoxiris is one too. I hope my kids will be too. I'm in the best choir in the country and I'm studying for a degree in music, mention in singing. I can't imagine what my life would be like if one day I lost my voice or my sense of hearing. These children of the young deaf mute choir (Coro de Manos Blancas) were born that way, and I know what it must mean for them and their families to be able to be part of an opera with such an important conductor as Gustavo Dudamel. In addition, the staging has been performed in several countries and this true act of inclusion is already being imitated.


IMG_20230614_121616_279.jpg
Saturday rehearsal with Gustavo Dudamel


nuevoseparador.png


IMG_20230615_174026_602.jpg
My photo with the international solo singers


The Manos Blancas Choir is a source of pride for Venezuelans. They always interpret the music with sign language. It is not only integrated by deaf and mute young people, some of them do sing, but they have other disabilities. I have enjoyed their work for years, but I never imagined seeing them starring in an opera.

Maestro Dudamel is also characterized by being accompanied by the best international artists, and has brought two sopranos, two tenors and three very surprising baritones from different countries such as Germany, Italy and the United States. After the second performance on Sunday I couldn't stand it and asked the only soloist who spoke Spanish to join me for a group photo. I love my photo with the soloists outside our musical venue.


IMG_20230617_150725_912.jpg
Photo Prior to Saturday's Performance


nuevoseparador.png


IMG_20230615_161609_593.jpg

Intermission of the Sunday Performance

To me, this is the true inclusion the world needs. We need to do away with labels and barriers that distinguish us from other people. We don't have to make a protest for deaf-mutes to participate in musical productions, they are simply prepared and participate as the artists they are. There is something very curious too, and that is that Beethoven became deaf at the end of his work as a composer, so in my opinion, this gives more value to the work that is being done.

We had a great concert that marked history in Venezuela and the world, and yet, although I was on stage I felt like a spectator, because everyone, the audience and the musicians were fascinated with the acting performance of the boys, plus the choreography was impeccable, sometimes I felt they were better timed than us professional chorale. Without a doubt I recommend you to visit this opera if you are lucky enough to have it performed in your country. I feel that this will continue to expand around the world, because it is an innovative idea.


IMG_20230618_144302_305.jpg


IMG_20230613_174423_317.jpg


I confess that this last photo with Maestro Gustavo Dudamel is from Thursday's rehearsal, but I needed to share it in this post. All images were captured with my Tecno Pova II. We are still prohibited from sharing video excerpts of the performance, but I will leave a couple of instagram links for you to appreciate a little more of what the concert was like from the view of the audience and the press. I hope you liked my post.


IMG_20230614_095956_452.jpg



facebook icono.png youtube icono.png twitter icono.png instagram icono.png


Firma 2022.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center