Repainting My Room Door on a Sunday <3



A couple years ago, my father and I repainted the rooms in our house following the big typhoon. It was so fun that I decided to paint one of my favorite anime characters on my bedroom door. The character has a simple and cute design, so I really like looking at it.

However, years have past since then, so the paint somehow faded and I thought it's about time I repaint it. I originally planned to do it last weekend, but my best friend and his family came over, so I had to postponed.

Yesterday, I had a 2-hour class in the morning then made some banana cupcakes for my parents as a present for their wedding anniversary. Then in the afternoon, I decided to execute my plan of repainting my room door.





I have four hours free time before I prepare for my class in the evening. I only have one class and since I only plan on repainting, I think the time I had was more than enough.




I was satisfied with how it looked like before, but actually the colors weren't that blended well plus the time that has passed made it worse. There were also some dirty spots and paint that were removed from the door. In addition, I also wanted to add some life to the welcome sign even just a simple shadow.




I got my materials ready. I saw these unused egg trays in our cupboard, so I asked my mom if I could have it. She agreed and now I have a good container to mix in some acrylic paints. I only have the primary colors, white and black...






I started with the welcome sign. I decided on this hue of blue to make the shadow... and while waiting for it to dry, I added a bit of yellow to my blue and white mixture to color his headband. And when the shadows dried, I repainted the black. <3





I worked on his head first... I was trying to experiment on the skin color and ended up with a pinkish looking one. I think it suits him since he's very cute.





A short photo break!!!
It was very funny because as I was outlining the face, I suddenly felt dizzy. It was a bit hot, so I thought it's just the heat that's getting to me. I drank some water, but moments later my father said that there was an earthquake.

Yeah, it wasn't me getting dizzy, but the earth just shook a little bit. XD






And since my father came inside the house, I asked him to take a couple photos of me working on this piece. It was a bright and fine day, so I feel energized and I was also listening to NEWS songs on Spotify!

I was supposed to take a nap but decided against it since I want to go to bed directly later that night as I needed to wake up earlier than usual this morning. My student requested to have an earlier class, so yeah... zombie mode for a night owl like me. But hey... not complaining! :)





It was just repainting, but it took me almost four hours to finish it. My back hurts! (signs of aging)

However, I felt accomplished and happy to see the result. It looks much better now... and my mom requested me to paint their bedroom door as well, so I'm going to work on that the next time I have a longer free time. I got quite a number of classes next weekend, so I doubt I could do it soon.

Anyway, thanks for checking! See you around! (^^,)/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center